We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“get charged twice” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Budget Laon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Budget Laon
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“get charged twice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

hi
i have stayed in many etaps before but this must go down as the worst, to start with we booked it on the internet site, paid on line got email to confirm payment and reservation,turned up at 3 pm, no one on site so tried the auto reservation machine outside,put reservation number in ,confirmed it but said payment was needed???
waited for recepionist to turn up at 5 pm,after it looked as though she had done the gardening by the state of her nails[ my wifes comment]she also said that payment was needed so i paid again on credit card to get a our room,as you walk into the hotel it stinks of urine,our room no7 had a broken toilet seat /shower head and a shower curtain too short so it flooded the bathroom, also cobwebs in the bathroom, we did complain about the shower and a cleaner did clean it up but said that there is nothing they could do, now in the process of trying to get one of payments back but at the moment the web site is not very helpfull,will not be staying at this one again!!!!

Room Tip: tip dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    69
    76
    23
    15
See reviews for
54
78
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

The rooms are way too small - the shower has the usual too short curtain, almost impossible to have a good shower, especially because the shower head had broken and wouldn't stay on the wall - didn't anyone notice..? Breakfast was minimal, little choice and the milk was off - no-one around to complain to. Save your money and find somewhere better - we will.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mobiletony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laon hotels

Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

The hotel was easy to find and although the desk was unstaffed check-in via the automated service was quick and easy. Rooms are basic but clean, fine for an overnight stop. This is the second time we've stayed at the hotel on our travels through France and would return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Parking and Wi-Fi are excellent. Flat screen tv is fine but the channel variety is poor.
The bed is nice and cozy but one really has to wonder why hotel companies approve certain obvious nonsensical building designs, or stuff things into rooms that makes one wonder about management’s sanity.
Take ground floor room #2 in this hotel.:
*After taking a two-minute shower, the washroom was completely flooded. Why? Because there’s nothing to prevent the water from going all over the place. The flimsy shower curtain - some ten inches above the floor - served no real purpose.
*Either the room is too small for the bed or the bed is too large for the room, but this bed is so big (a ménage à cinq would be no problem, I guess) that there’s no room to work at the mini desk because there’s no space left for you to use the chair unless you’re one of the Seven Dwarfs.
*To get out of (or into) this enormous bed is another story. There’s 7 (seven) inches of space on either side (think dwarf), but one side is blocked by a coat hanger contraption that will not allow you to get out (or in) on that side unharmed unless you’re short or extremely flexible. So you crawl over to the other side and shuffle sideways (if your girth allows it) out of that claustrophobic area.
*There is no dedicated luggage space. None! The little piece of floor that's left, has to do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorbonne-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I have used etap for years and this was the worst by far. the ground floor smelt of urine. The bathroom smelt of urine and the loo was stained. The shower managed to soak the floor. I think they may have a drains problem!!! I know it's just a place to rest your head but it didn't make for a good night sleep!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueblue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Pros: Good value for money, good bedding.
Cons: strong tobacco odour in the hallway. No ventilation so you have to keep the windows open even on the ground floor which may be a bit of a security problem and let the street noise in. GPS coordinates are incorrect. No one at the reception at 21:30 despite the claim it is manned until 22:00. Smelly toilet. Water on the floor after using shower.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Not one of our better experiences. No staff on duty until 5 p.m. We went to the grill restaurant at the adjacent Ibis Hotel (same chain) and were turned away as it was 'for residents only'. On asking the girl on duty if she could tell us of a nearby restaurant, she had no idea and said we would have to go up to the old town and find one. With the temperature well over 30 degrees the duvet arrangement was far too hot. When we spoke to the manageress later, she was obviously competent and said the difficulty with the restaurant had happened before.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laon hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premiere Classe Laon
2.0 mi away
Hostellerie St-Vincent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Campanile Laon
Campanile Laon
#7 of 8 in Laon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
1.0 mi away
Hotel de la Banniere de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Laon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Laon

Property: Ibis Budget Laon
Address: Avenue Georges Pompidou | ZAC Ile de France, 02000 Laon, France (Formerly Etap Hotel Laon)
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Laon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Laon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Laon 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Laon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing