We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tribute”

WWI Marine Memorial at Belleau Wood
Book In Advance
More Info
$202.57*
and up
Private WWI Day Trip from Paris: Aisne-Marne...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed August 1, 2013

There atop the hill at Belleau Wood, with the bodies of so many young Americans buried below, is a tribute to the Marines, yes, United States Marines, who took part in the battle of Belleau Wood. The trails are lovely and well marked and show the scars of the battle, even today. Well worth the trip.

3  Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"devil dog"
in 12 reviews
"belleau wood"
in 29 reviews
"aisne marne"
in 12 reviews
"american cemetery"
in 8 reviews
"marine memorial"
in 7 reviews
"bucket list"
in 4 reviews
"hallowed ground"
in 5 reviews
"iron mike"
in 4 reviews
"train station"
in 4 reviews
"white crosses"
in 4 reviews
"french countryside"
in 3 reviews
"wheat fields"
in 2 reviews
"across the street"
in 3 reviews
"battle sites"
in 3 reviews
"small museum"
in 3 reviews
"an absolute"
in 2 reviews
"history buff"
in 2 reviews
Filter

67 - 71 of 125 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Helped to explain to the children how the war was won... The views are great and the info on the monument instructive

Thank wildleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Belleau Wood is located on the high ground to the rear of the Aisne-Marne American Cemetery and Memorial south of the village of Belleau (Aisne), France. It contains many of the vestiges of World War I. In the center of the road leading through the woods is a flagpole and a monument commemorating the valor of the U.S. Marines who captured this area in 1918. Like all the ABMC memorials it is a fitting and beautiful tribute.

2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and i were traveling with our French friends in the Champagne region and I suggested we make a significant detour to see the monuments at Belleau and at Chateau-Thievery. Our friends agreed so on Saturday morning, May 25, 2013, Memorial weekend back home, we drove from outside of Reims about an hour through the gorgeous French countryside to visit the cemetery and monument at Belleau. I was not prepared for this visit and found myself emotionally touched as I watched Marines from California, Stuttgart, Germany, and a collection of wounded warriors, practicing, along with their French counterparts (who were in uniform, the American Marines were in civilian dress) the Saturday morning before the actual Memorial Day ceremony, on 26 May 2013. This cemetery is flat out beautiful and evoked in me very strong feelings, especially as my wife and I climbed the hill behind the monument. I choked up as I looked out over the cemetery, realizing that 95 years ago on about June 1, 1918, thousands of young, untested Marines faced a strong German force and, over the course of three weeks, held them back, preventing the Germans from crossing the Marne and marching on Paris. We chatted with a Marine Colonel who was in charge of the young Marines who had traveled to Belleau. He could not have been more proud of his young men, who, it seemed, were extremely proud to be there for this special ceremony. I wish we could have stayed to see them in action, representing the Marine Corps..

5  Thank SteveVegoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Amazing experience! The grounds of this memorial are beautifully kept. It was very nice to see this, and hear all the history about this battle.

2  Thank sandy8978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WWI Marine Memorial at Belleau Wood also viewed

 

Been to WWI Marine Memorial at Belleau Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing