We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food and Beautiful Restaurant”
Review of Les Menestrels

Les Menestrels
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Les Menestrels is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 127 Restaurants in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Food and Beautiful Restaurant”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a beautiful restaurant situated right next to the castle. We had a lovely meal and great wine. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definately return!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    111
    34
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fine dining and great ambience”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at Anne D'Anjou as part of a cycling tour and so dining at Les Menestrels was part of our package. Therefore we had a 3 course set menu. It was wonderful! From the 3 part Amuse Bouche to the home made sweets at the end, we enjoyed every mouthful! The meals are well balanced and flavoursome. The wine was reasonably priced (30 euro for a local red) and the service discreet and attentive. The table settings (each one unique) were just exquisite. We would not have found this on our own, but highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For Lovers of Fine Dining”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Decided to stay overnight in Saumur en route back to the ferry. Was a fairly regular diner at Les Menestrels many years ago when we had a house in the area, so was interested to find out if it was as good as we remembered. We were not dissapointed, finding that M. Hosselet was still chef/owner after all these years! The food was excellent quality with ample use of seasonal items. Service could not be faulted for speed and efficiency, although the waiter seemed a little cool and withdrawn with all the diners. Three course menu at about Eu 35 was a fair price for the excellent quality of the food provided. Would have been nice to have a crisp or nut with our aperitif, but we managed without. Wine list had a good selection of excellent but highly priced wines, but there was rather a lack of more reasonably priced options as many were out of stock. Probably time to refresh the wine list as all those crossings out doesn't give a very good impression! Well worth a visit if you're in the area, but not quite the perfection it used to be.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mothewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great find in Saumur despite back street location”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews after we dined at this restaurant and did not recognize the poor reviews as relating to the same place! We found the restaurant by chance on a Saturday night in October. It was not easy to find and was empty when we arrived at 7.30, but zoom filled up.

Atmosphere was great with high ceilings and eclectic furnishings. Baser vice attentive but not rushed. Food was all excellent - including a good selection of cheeses. Wine was well priced - we asked for a recommendation for a local red at around €25 per bottle and were offered a Saumur Champigny 2010 which was excellent.

A truly excellent experience and at a reasonable price of about €65 per head.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good meal and attentive service”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I chanced on Les Menestrels, although it is probably already recognised as best in Saumur. We went on a Tuesday evening. It was not crowded but the maitre-d was seating everyone to give a cosy yet discreet atmosphere.
Decor is simple with a traditional interior room and a more modern timber and glass extension.The food was really good and well-balanced with several complimentary amuse-bouches to start and delicacies with coffee.
Presentation of the dishes was delicately artistic without being fussy. Clearly we were observed and service proceeded without prompting and we were not oppressed with attention.
Best advice is to book later in the week as, while it is a gem, this restaurant is no secret to discerning locals and visitors alike.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knighton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Menestrels also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Les Menestrels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing