We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveler rating
322
448
107
24
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
448
107
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the river river view privilege room main town standard room accor hotels garage parking short walk nice hotel small balcony superb views small supplement restaurants and shops tea and coffee facilities restaurant area bedroom window overnight stop
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 910 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Experienced the worst welcome I've ever had at an Accor hotel, the woman on the reception was abrupt and bad-mannered and had no interest in us as customers or sorting out our requests. Later she got our drinks order in the bar wrong and the following morning she had charged us (deliberately?) incorrectly for the drinks. However the man on duty when we checked out sorted out the problem with a smile and very professionally.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Bryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear Sir, I thank you in a very personal way. I am very happy to respond to your judgment which is very simplistic and you do not voluntarily mention the following: Our teams do their best to meet your expectations and you have an obligation to respect people in front of you. This is a simple principle of education whatever their skin color ... You have allowed yourself a completely inappropriate behavior, very little respect for the human. To believe that your little desire for comfort makes you forget the essence of our existence: Benevolence, respect for others, consideration, listening, living together. These simple values that you have completely lost through your outrageous and inaptive behavior in a contemporary society like ours today. The rest is just revenge and other misplaced behavior of a man in search of recognition. You forget to mention your upgrade and other services you enjoyed, just like the welcome that was made with tact and politeness despite your invectives. It is really sad to realize that at any age, the madness of men and still very present in some very restricted minds. I wish you sir find the peace of the soul you really need .. good luck for the rest of your journey of life very sad.

Mr BERTRAND R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

Stayed here for 3 nights in July. Hotel is located on the banks of the Loire. We paid extra for a river view, however we were unable to open the windows due to the midge-like flies coming in from the river. Not only that, but no one was sitting on the terraced area which looks so nice on the web-page for the same reason. the breakfast room was also infested by them. A nice hotel in general but not at this time of year. The neighbourhood is dubious as our we had items stolen from our car (parked right outside the hotel) on our 1st night. Hotel staff left a lot to be desired as all they could say was it was not their problem and never asked subsequently if we were OK. Very disappointing and not what we expected when booking.

Room tip: Dont pay for rvier view unless you don't mind keeping the windows closed at all times.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Hello sir and thank you for your contribution.
You report here your interpretations, deformations, generalizations and omissions.
Your experience of stay, based on your own emotions, sensations can not pale from your conclusions as personal and meaningless. Our establishment is located on the banks of the Loire and like any establishment located in a frame close to nature, you live in direct contact with it. I regret that you suffered an inconvenience regarding the theft in your car. However, it is unfortunate to leave obvious objects of value in plain view ... You will understand then, sir, that you are the only person responsible for this situation. The Loire is a unesco world heritage site, our site is certified natura 2000 (protection of fauna and flora) and you offer an exceptional location on the Loire and the old town. Here you have the opportunity to live a unique experience close to nature, in a bucolic setting. It is a shame to want to live in such a sumptuous setting without loving nature. It's a bit like you want to cross the desert when you can not stand the heat, or climb the mountain without carrying your belongings and without suffering. It is a bit of the paradox of our modern and comfortable society. I wish you to find the peace that you really need. Best regards
Mr BERTRAND R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

Stayed for 4 nights in a room facing the Loire. Wonderful views over the river and town. Great hotel: clean and comfortable; friendly staff; cool in the hot weather; good breakfast. Close to some good restaurants

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Hello Madam, Sir and thank you for your contribution.
We are very happy to have contributed to your positive experience of stay and hope to see you again on Saumur.
Our team is concerned about your well-being and accompanies you every day to make your stay more enjoyable.
Best regards.
Mr BERTRAND R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

The hotel is badly in need of an upgrade.
Our room had a fantastic view of the river and the chateau opposite - but that was the only thing good about it.
Lots of marks on walls and floors - tiles chipped in bathroom - generally not in very good condition. Aircon was virtually useless.
Main town is across the river about a 15min walk away.
Receptionist was borderline rude.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Hello and thank you for your contribution. We thank you for your participation and all this information that is part of your personal and subjective experience of stay. We take into account all the elements in order to make the necessary modifications. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Saumur.
Best regards
Mr BERTRAND R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

The hotel is situated on the banks of the River Loire with a fantastic view of the Chateau. When you laze in bed you can see the river and castle, it's fantastic. The rooms are spacious with big comfortable beds, air conditioning, empty fridge and tea and coffee facilities. Bathroom and shower also good size with toilet extra. Staff friendly and helpful also free parking. After a day of sightseeing it's so relaxing to enjoy a glass of bubbly on the terrace and enjoy the view.

Room tip: Pay that little extra and have a room overlooking the river. It's worth it.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveller1Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Dear traveller1Vienna,

Thank you for your comment and for taking the time to share your experience and it's a pleasure to see a comment like yours, it's our biggest reward.

We are pleased to see that the location of the hotel contributed to your satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Thibaut / Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews