We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 100%!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 793 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel is situated, as the name suggests, on the banks of the Loire and has wonderful views of the castle across the river. The staff are friendly and efficient, it has plenty of parking, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmg513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Madam, Sir,
Thank you for your comment and are pleased to have met your expectations.
We hope to welcome you again Saumur.
sincerely
Mr BERTRAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We saw this hotel across the river last year and decided it would be a good idea for 2014 due to its good location overlooking the river. It is easy to find and has a good outside car park a few meters away. The rooms are modern and nicely appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The room had a fridge with complementary water and a kettle, both very welcome. The air conditioning was a bonus in the heat. You can get free wifi in the room but it is a nuisance having to register every 3 hours or so! The staff made us feel very welcome. We didn't eat in the hotel. It is a nice walk over the bridge into town where there are a lot of restaurants to choose from. A very nice stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank rosita061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Madam, Sir,
Thank you for your comment and are pleased to have met your expectations.
We hope to welcome you again Saumur.
sincerely
Mr BERTRAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

If you're looking for somewhere with a breath-taking view then a river facing room is where you want to be. The view of the town of Saumur with its fairy-tale castle is simply stunning by day and night.

It's a bit of a step from the town centre, perhaps 15 minutes, but that's a small price to pay for the benefits the hotel brings. Ample parking, quiet location, comfortable rooms, friendly without over-effusive service. Breakfast is quite expensive at €14.95 but there is a wide choice of cereals, pastries, fresh fruit, cold meats and cheese plus hot eggs, bacon and sausage..

This was our first visit to Saumur, which is a great place from which to discover the Loire valley. We will certainly return and probably stay at the Mercure.

Room Tip: A riverside room provides the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WingcoNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Madam, Sir,
Thank you for your comment and are pleased to have met your expectations.
We hope to welcome you again Saumur.
sincerely
Mr BERTRAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

An amazing location with wonderful views of Saumur Chateau (as long as you book the right room). Clean spacious rooms and friendly staff.
It's odd that it advertises with apparent pride that it doesn't have a restaurant? Lot's of great restaurants in Saumur, but is it really a Hotel?

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Madam, Sir,
Thank you for your comment and are pleased to have met your expectations.
We hope to welcome you again Saumur.
sincerely
Mr BERTRAND

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Alun J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel in Saumur, other side of the bridge to the town so a bit quieter at night but only 5 minute walk to centre. Great view of the chateau and Loire river from my room. Very good free car park with loads of room to park. Would recommend to my friends on Tripadvisor :)

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank callcentreboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear
We thank you warmly for taking the time to submit your comment. It goes right to the heart!
My team and I hope to welcome you again Saumur.
sincerely

Mr BERTRAND R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur

Address: 1 rue du Vieux Pont, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range: $86 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Saumur, the Mercure Bords de Loire 3 star hotel is on the Ile d'Offard island, in a relaxing environment 5 mins walk from the town centre. From your room you can admire the castle, theatre, Pont Cessart bridge and the majesty of the LoireRiver, in the UNESCO World Heritage listed Loire Valley. Renovated in 2007, our reception offers you the 3 themes of wine, horses and heritage. The hotel features 45 rooms and 3 meeting rooms all equipped with air conditioning and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing