We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a modern-ish place that probably caters to business travelers. You get a sense of that in the fairly spartan bathrooms - small towels, 1 small plastic wrapped soap bar, etc. Nevertheless, it is clean, and modern. Room is NOT large, but certainly adequate. Absolutely agree with other reviewers that paying extra for a view of the chateau across the river is well worth it. Beautiful views of the Chateau and the Loire. We were here in winter - off season - so Chateau not lit up at night, but the day time views are wonderful. There is no restaurant on site, but more than enough in Saumur. All told, excellent value, great location. Great for family, friends, but probably not the romantic Loire Valley getaway for a couple.

Room Tip: Pay for a view of the Chateau across the Loire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear
Thank you for your comment.
We work every day with all our heart to meet your expectations.
My team and I are very touched to your comments encourage us in our quality.
We would be delighted to welcome you again Saumur.

cordially

Mr BERTRAND R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 786 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Had two separate stays overnight while travelling. The second just confirmed what we thought about it the first time. Good staff, reasonable price and superb views across the Loire to the Chateau and bridge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harryginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear
Thank you for your comment.
We would be delighted to welcome you to our new rooms for next season with our new breakfast.
sincerely

Mr BERTRAND R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel easy to find with plenty of parking available. Staff all very friendly and helpful. We booked rooms with a view of the chateau for a small supplement ( well worth it ). The rooms are large, clean, beds big and comfortable with good en-suites and the view is spectacular. The hotel has no restaurant but we found several good restaurants to choose from within ten minutes easy, flat walking distance. Breakfast was excellent - good choice of fresh fruit, juices, breads, croissants and pastries, hot cooked food etc. Hotel well situated for walking into the old town or for discovering the very picturesque surrounding area by car. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the river to the old town and chateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear
Thank you for your comment.
We would be delighted to welcome you to our new rooms for next season with our new breakfast.
sincerely

Mr BERTRAND R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Julian R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice hotel and the location gives a fantastic view across the river to the chateau. We had booked a room with a view of the chateau and it was worth paying the extra. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Rooms were spotless and comfortable. Room service for food was excellent and there was a good selection for the breakfast buffet. Underground car parking is useful but a bit of a tight fit for a larger car. There is a lift from the car park and luggage trolleys are supplied, very sensible! We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveller237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear
Thank you for your comment.
We would be delighted to welcome you to our new rooms for next season with our new breakfast.
sincerely

Mr BERTRAND R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A warm welcome on our arrival set the tone for our one night stay here, we could have easily stayed longer, and will certainly be back. Our room looked across the Loire towards The Chateau a great view with the early morning mist. The rooms were clean and well presented with very comfortable beds, a small fridge and tea / coffee making facilities. A really nice breakfast with friendly and efficient staff. The only point to note is the Hotel does not have a restaurant, to be fair this is in the Hotel literature and website so should not be a surprise. Well worth a stay when visiting Saumur and the Loire.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Loire, extra but worth the cost. Checkout the breakfast included d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetCrowdedHouseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,
We are so happy to you commentary below.
My team and I will be happy to see you again in Saumur.
Best regards.

Mr BERTRAND R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur

Address: 1 rue du Vieux Pont, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range: $91 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Saumur, the Mercure Bords de Loire 3 star hotel is on the Ile d'Offard island, in a relaxing environment 5 mins walk from the town centre. From your room you can admire the castle, theatre, Pont Cessart bridge and the majesty of the LoireRiver, in the UNESCO World Heritage listed Loire Valley. Renovated in 2007, our reception offers you the 3 themes of wine, horses and heritage. The hotel features 45 rooms and 3 meeting rooms all equipped with air conditioning and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing