We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly what was expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    357
    80
    17
    7
See reviews for
87
439
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

An expensive hotel but worth paying the extra 10 euro for a view of the river. We had two balconies and a fantastic view of the chateu and the Loire. Breakfast was good location was good

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGlasgowTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I enjoyed staying in this hotel, although wifi wasn't working 90% of the time in the hotel room itself. It worked in the hotel lobby.
The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but restaurants are within a 20 minute walk.
Breakfast was good.
The hotel is missing a terras, although there is some space that could be used for it.
Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

a fine central spot ,easy to get to and fine river views ,well worth the supplement for the ever changing panorama

Room Tip: pay the extra for the view over the loire
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

One of the few hotels we visited on our holiday in the Loire Valley with tea and coffee making facilities - very welcome after a long drive from Caen! Our room on the first floor (accessed by a lift) was somewhat on the small side but tastefully decorated. Could not fault service provided by reception staff. Bar area very pleasant with stunning views of the Chateau across the Loire in the centre of Saumur. Unfortunately this hotel does not serve evening meals in the restaurant area but we could not fault the "buffet breakfast" which provided, in addition to the usual French fayre, a selection of eggs, bacon and sausages. Unfortunately we did not have time to participate in the Spa facilities available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huggybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Depends what you are looking for in a hotel... If your idea of a charming hotel is an 80's block then you will be happy. If you are after a friendly welcome and service though don't go near this place: the girl at the empty reception desk did not even look up when we arrived. Then I pointed out that I had booked a room overlooking the river (I had the printout of my booking which she refused to look at) and was told that I "probably did not want to pay the extra to have the view as I had booked through Hotels.com"!! The perfect welcome... We had a very small room at the back that had a small tv on the wall with a small shelf hanging under it but also a ridiculously tiny wardrobe. The curtains did not close properly and were hanging on one side..v not a good look.The wi-fi did not work and you had to pay extra for a connection. Car parking is available around the corner and luckily we got the last spot. Secure car park in the building is charged at €7.50 a day.
The bathroom was small (no bath) but ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freekneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

3 Star hotel in a nice setting on the river Loire in Samaur, France. It is a short 8-10 minute walk accross the bridge to the centre of the town. This is a modern hotel. It is very quiet and peaceful with no traffic noise. The staff are very friendly and efficient and the place is pretty faultless....except, Some of the rooms are small.
Book online and you are given the choice of a normal or 'superior' room. Be warned..... the 'superior' refers to the rooms view of the river, and not a superior standard or size of room. This I found missleading as when we arrived we found the room to be quite small for a double (by our standards anyway). When I argued this point with the receptionist, I was informed that I could have a larger room at a higher price. As I had already booked a 'superior' room, as far as I was concerned, I had already booked a larger room. I would still reccommend this hotel despite the room size though.

One problem, which is no fault of the hotel.... All the street lights in the town are switched off Around 1pm. The whole town is in total darkness and you can't see your hand in front of your face! There are no taxis at this time either.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Celtic-Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
258 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur

Property: Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Address: 1 rue du Vieux Pont, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Saumur, the Mercure Bords de Loire 3 star hotel is on the Ile d'Offard island, in a relaxing environment 5 mins walk from the town centre. From your room you can admire the castle, theatre, Pont Cessart bridge and the majesty of the LoireRiver, in the UNESCO World Heritage listed Loire Valley. Renovated in 2007, our reception offers you the 3 themes of wine, horses and heritage. The hotel features 45 rooms and 3 meeting rooms all equipped with air conditioning and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing