We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saumur,so good”
Review of Le Londres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Londres
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 596 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for one night on a visit to the Loire Valley, great location and more importantly for us safe and secure parking for our motorbikes. Rooms were of a good size with everything we needed, including a fan which was a God send with the recent hot weather.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigernonose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeLondres, Propriétaire at Le Londres, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Madam, Sir,
thank you very much for this great comment. Yes, our secure parking is very useful for cars & motorbikes (including the garage for the bikes). We already have 12 rooms with air conditioning & by the time they will be all equipped, we offer fans in the other ones, which is of a good comfort few days in Summer time !
Best Regards,
Charlotte & Francois Chovet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am still here but wanted to take the opportunity to give credit where credit is due! I have been quite impressed with the hotel but mostly with the staff and their friendliness and willingness to assist their hosts. Two thumbs up....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falvaradob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeLondres, Propriétaire at Le Londres, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Francisco,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we will certainly share your positive comments with our team. Thanks again for all that & we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards,
Charlotte & Francois Chovet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We decided to return to the Loire after an absence of about ten years and wanted to stay for a week in Saumur as it is a great central location for many of the chateaux and vineyards. We looked at a number of Hotels and decided on Hotel de Londres because it was a small hotel (25 rooms) and in a central location. We certainly made the right choice.
We arrived earlier than expected in Saumur so parked by the river (free) had some lunch then walked to the Hotel. Our room wasn’t quite ready however we were given an access fob to the hotel car park and by the time we had brought our car round to the hotel our room was ready. (It is worth booking a car parking space as on street parking can be difficult)
Francois (the owner) gave us a friendly greeting helped us with our luggage and showed us our room. In fact during the whole of the stay all the staff were very friendly and helpful and although we tried to speak French as often as possible Francois spoke very good English when we struggled.
The reception areas and bedrooms are on the first and second floors but do not let this deter you from staying, it is a lovely hotel. The reception area was bright and spacious and decorated to a high standard. Our room was on the back of the hotel, and had been newly refurbished. It was well appointed with a separate shower room and toilet (unusual these days) and a large comfy bed.
The breakfast room was light and airy overlooking the street. It was great to sit there in a morning with the sun streaming in the windows. The breakfast buffet was excellent; you could eat as much as you want.
The hotel is perfectly situated for the town centre; all the restaurants, shops, cafes etc. are within easy walking distance.
We will certainly use this hotel when we next visit the area and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeLondres, Propriétaire at Le Londres, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to write a so long & positive review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read that you appreciated all our efforts on our friendliness & high standards. The quality of your comfort & sleep is of a top priority to us.
We'll be delighted to welcome you back again.
Best Regards,
Charlotte & François Chovet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Friendly staff, good size rooms, good wifi and secure parking . Central Saumur so easy walking to the sites around the city. good restaurant recommendations made . We didn't take breakfast as it was expensive but plenty of cafes locally to get a good coffee and pastry.

Room Tip: rooms at the front are noisy early in the morning when they are road sweeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeLondres, Propriétaire at Le Londres, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Sarah,
thank you so much for all these details & positive comments. The enthusiasm of our gests is our best reward ! We are sorry that our breakfast was out of your budget, but be sure that we have one of the less expensive ones of the 2 & 3 stars hotels in Saumur & our priority is to be delivered locally with fresh product like croissant, paints au chocolat & bread from the bakery every morning, yummy !
Best Regards,
Charlotte & Francois Chovet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I booked one night in the Hotel de Londres after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. I arrived in Saumur by bike, and the hotel couldn't be easier to find! It is very centrally located, and there is a little bit of everything nearby. I was able to lock my bike in a safe and secure unit next door in their parking area. The check-in process was easy, and the rooms, reception, and breakfast area are clean and relatively new. The building does not have an elevator, and some of the hallways were a bit gloomy and worn. This could be why the hotel has a 2 star rating. But do not let this discourage you. I would recommend the breakfast. Overall, I had a very nice stay in this hotel and would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeLondres, Propriétaire at Le Londres, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear guest,
I am glad to read you had a good & peaceful rest after days biking ! It is true that our central location is appreciated by many. Since 8 years, our priority has been to refurbish the rooms. The 2 last hallways (over 5) will be done soon with air conditioning in all rooms. We have all criteria to be a 3 stars, but our choice is to get them with the elevator & air conditioning in 2 years maximum.
Thanks again for your nice comments & we will be very happy to welcome you again,
Best Regards,
Charlotte & Francois Chovet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Hotel de Londres was absolutely the best hotel experience we had in France. The staff was friendly, and helpful. The hotel was clean, the breakfast an outstanding value, and they had safe parking at a reasonable price. The only negative is no elevator, but the staff helped up bring our bags to our rooms. If I return to Saumur I will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeLondres, Propriétaire at Le Londres, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear David,
thank you very much for this great comment. The enthusiasm of your guests is always a so good pleasure ! By the time we can invest in the elevator (as soon as possible...), my husband is the elevator of the hotel & I am glad you could appreciate his service !
Looking forward to welcoming you again with us,
Best Regards,
Charlotte & François.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 26 in Saumur
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
0.4 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#12 of 26 in Saumur
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Saumur Centre
Kyriad Saumur Centre
#11 of 26 in Saumur
256 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 26 in Saumur
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Londres

Address: 48 rue d Orleans, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saumur
#3 Family Hotel in Saumur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: $88 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Londres 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Londres Hotel
De Londres Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing