We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful finale to our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Beaulieu
Ranked #3 of 24 Saumur B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful finale to our holiday”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed just one night (sadly) on our way back to UK from the Dordogne. What a place - magnificent, cool and restful after our journey and warmly welcomed by Mary and Monique. Our room was on the second floor, but well worth the stairs and the corridors - spacious and airy, with four poster and all. The breakfast is an experience - both in terms of food (we recommend Mary's excellent scones) and arrangement. Everyone staying has breakfast pretty much together around one (huge) table. The house is festooned with period pieces and it feels like being transported back in time - a privilege to be part of Connor and Mary's household for a while. All in all great value for money. We loved being there; thank you for letting us in. We have it in mind to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanandSueNewbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    38
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
92
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is a beautiful old Chateau on the very edge of the Loire a stones throw from Saumur. If you are looking for a different and authentic experience this is certainly it! Owned and run by an Irish couple (who unfortunately were not there during our stay), the hotel is managed by Monique who greeted us with a warm smile and a cold glass of sparkling Saumur promptly served on the outside terrace, moments after we arrived.

Shabby, chic with lots of period furniture and places to prop yourself as you check your email, a billiard table in what was the original entrance hall/room plus an enormous table in the dining room for all the guests to sit and take breakfast and swop travelers tales! The house is absolutely gorgeous, but there is ‘always something to be done’ Monique told me!

The beautiful old main staircase leads up to the bedrooms. Ours was at the very end of the hall and decorated in a rich red, it was complete with a double, four-poster bed (small) in a huge room with tons of windows and light and a lovely original fireplace. With bathroom en-suite and a small separate bedroom for our daughter who was traveling with us it was perfect!

This hotel has tons of atmosphere with a fun, happy-go-lucky, relaxed feel about it. (Its not luxurious or stuffy as some of the restored Chateaux’s tend to be). Saumur is a lovely town to visit with plenty of nice restaurants and there’s tons to do in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GingerPanamaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A friend and I recently spent a wonderful three days at Mary's beautiful chateau. Great place with tastefully furnished rooms, lovely breakfasts and warm and welcoming hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for Mary or Monique...and we loved her Irish wheat bread. The chateau boasts four posters, a relaxing salon, full size snooker table and beaytiful period dining room. We would recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in an authentic but friendly chateau.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jancartercoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We are a family of five (13, 11 and 8). We spent 5 nights. I highly recommend it. Mary is a wonderful host, as was Monique. From the moment we arrived all of us, including the kids, were welcomed into their home. It is a beautiful chateau with lots of old-world charm and nice pieces, but the kids were always welcome throughout the house and we felt very comfortable at all times. The breakfasts were amazing. Each morning Mary and Monique would welcome us, feed us great food, and help us plan our day - often doing research or making reservations. We stayed on the second floor which was fun because it is accessed through an old stair case that the kids thought was so cool and castle-like. The bedrooms were large and clean and comfortable. We had a single "suite" (Pompadour) but it had two rooms - a master and one for the kids. No AC but never needed it - temp was comfortable with windows open. Only one bathroom in the joint-rooms we had, but it was clean and worked fine. Plenty of hot water even for the teenager. The grounds are also nice and we used the pool several afternoons. We bought wine and Mary provided wine glasses and we sat out by the pool as the kids swam. Ideal. The town is about 2-3 miles from the chateau - but not really walkable with small children. We drove in each day and explored. Lovely little town with lots of restaurants and shops. The Bourse rest. was particularly good/reasonable - we went twice.The town castle is nice, but don't spend the money for the tour. Several nicer castles to tour nearby. The tank museum was great for the kids (and parents). If we get back to the Loire Valley, we will absolutely stay here again. Thanks again Mary and Monique for everything.

Room Tip: The second floor was great for families and the Pompadour "suite" of two adjoining rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I spend 4 nights in this wonderful Chateau on the banks of the Loire near Saumur. Apart from the uniqueness and authenticity of the Chateau, it's real charm is the warm homely welcome given by the owners Mary and Conor on arrival. Breakfast is also a wonderful experience as everyone sits around a huge table in the dining room and conversations take place in various languages as people share holiday stories. The weather was very pleasant so after a day touring it was great to have a dip in the swimming pool. Dinner in the Chateau was fabulous and I felt like a real princess amid all the fine furniture.
A unique experience and I will gladly return again for more pampering.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennonAislinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Chateau de Beaulieu is decorated with comfortable homey antique furniture with romantic rooms facing out to the Loire River. It was wonderful to sit by the warm fireplace meeting interesting quests from all over the world. One of the best reasons to stay here is the owner, Mary, who goes out of her way to help you enjoy your daily explorations in the area. She gives great advice to custom-make your days the way you want them. We highly recommend the Pot du Lapin Restaurant in Saumur.

Some details: nice by the fireplace, free good breakfast with interesting quests to talk to, free secure parking in their lot, nice rooms decorated with comfortable homey antique furniture, great meeting area with warm fire, pool available for the warmer times, owner Mary goes out of her way to help you enjoy your excursions in the area – in fact, Mary is one of the best reasons to stay here because you will receive great advice to custom-make your days the way you want them, she recommends great restaurants, provides information & helps with planning your trip, Directions: stay south of Loire River – from Saumur travel D947 east about 2.5 KM (1 mile) towards Montsoreau, Fontevrand, & Chinon (look for small sign on south side of road leading to parking lot). Located at: 98 Route de Montsoreau, 49400 Saumur, email: info@chateaudebeaulieu.com

Travel tips on where to stay in the Loire Valley... The town of Saumur is a very good place to base your explorations of the western Lorie Valley. Saumur also has some very excellent restaurants and is the center of excellent wine tasting drives with unique chateaus to visit. The quaint village of Amboise, with its plentiful lodging and dining offerings, is a good place to base explorations of Loire Valley’s eastern side where the large most popular chateaux exist.

Hundreds of chateaux dot the Loire Valley comprising a thousand years of astonishingly rich architectural and artistic treasures with their sky-topped turrets and glittering banquet halls. The first were fortifications, with moats, drawbridges, and arrow slits. The more extravagant construction took place later, in the 1500’s and beyond, with over-the-top Renaissance flare as French kings and nobility went on a building spree, each trying to outdo the other. That spree ended in the 17th century when French royalty choose to stay in Paris and neighboring Versailles.

Some of our favorite major chateaux were the large ones located in the eastern side (Chaumont, Chenonceau, Cheverny, and Chambord) and the medium sized in the west (Azay-Le-Rideau, Villandry, Breze, and Langeais).

General Loire Valley Travel Tips... Visiting the Loire Valley during the peak season (Summer – July & August) can be very busy with traffic, higher prices, overwhelming crowds visiting the chateaux, full restaurants, advanced reservations necessary, etc. Visiting during the ‘shoulder’ seasons (May/June and September/October) is much better. When we visited in early May we walked right up to buy our tickets and had many places to ourselves with choices of restaurants booked the same day and hotels the day before. The weather cooperated with us but you should be prepared for rain some days. Be nice and many waiters will assist you with the French-only menus. Eat a lot of French food – it’s wonderful!

Driving Travel Tips... It is best to rent a car because you can see and do much more. The fast toll highway (A85) with no towns to interrupt is an excellent way to make longer journeys, especially at the end of the day when you want to get back to your hotel and put your feet up. The free, but slower, highway (D952) north of the Loire River is quicker than traveling on the south side of the river – but don’t miss the wonderful villages, etc. on the south side. We started adding some “lost time” for finding Chateaux, etc. and actually enjoyed getting lost because we saw beautiful countryside and wonderfully quaint villages. Invest in a detailed road map of the Loire Valley to assist you in finding places. Consider getting a small car to find parking more easily in these old towns. Wait to enter a roundabout until it is clear on all lanes. Normally, continuing straight on roundabouts is a good strategy if they are not signed. When using toll roads, the North American credit cards without the chip do not work and some do not take cash, so be sure to have some Euro coins with you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WayneDunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were immediately made to feel at home by Mary and Connor. They couldn't have been more helpful. We think that they recognised that we were at a loss as to where to go and gave us books from their library to keep to help us choose where we could continue our jouney in France. The breakfast was brilliant and Mary's soda bread is to die for. We saw nearly all the rooms and each one has its charm - as we say in Australia - do yaself a favour!
Mary and Peter

Room Tip: Any room we viewed nearly all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Verrieres
Chateau de Verrieres
#6 of 24 in Saumur
415 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
383 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
423 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
1.7 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Beaulieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Beaulieu

Property: Chateau de Beaulieu
Address: Route de Montsoreau, 49400, Saumur, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Beaulieu 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Beaulieu is a beautiful and romantic 18th-century castle nestled in the middle of a park with hundred-year-old trees, and situated just 200 meters from the banks of the Loire River and 2.5km from the lovely town of Saumur. Listed as a 'Monument Historique' by the French Ministry of Culture, Chateau de Beaulieu is recognised for its light and elegant architecture. At the chateau you can enjoy French billiards, or a swim in the heated pool set amongst the vine rows of the vineyard.Dr & Mme Coady-Maguire purchased Chateau de Beaulieu in 2003, and guests can be assured of a warm and friendly welcome to their home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Beaulieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Beaulieu Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing