We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Saumur, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Shilton20...
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

On arrival gite was dirty and infested with ants crawling in the cupboards and drawers and other large insects were under the cooker. We had to clean the floor and vacuum before we unpacked. Requested ant spray but none available and had to go out on the Sunday to try to find a shop open where we could buy some along with hairdryer and tin opener. The garden areas were overgrown, unkempt and full of nettles and unusable. The patio was dirty and full of moss and slipppery. The freezer compartment was full of mould. No English instructions on how to use the washing machine. The online description is misleading as the gite is not on the vineyard but a good way down the street. All this was very disappointing.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2015
We are sorry that you were disappointing.
Concerning the location of the cottage, the online description mentions "closed to the vineyard of the Câteau de Chaintres", not "in the vineyard".
Concerning the insects, we are on organic farming, so we don't use any chemical spray. There are some insects just like in a traditional country house. It is not dirty.
On the other hand we are sincerely sorry for the freezer compartment, that's why Richard, the person who welcome you, offered to you a bottle of our wine with all our excuses.
Best Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boogedy_s...
London, United Kingdom
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This gite was absolutely perfect for us. In the tiny hamlet of Chaintre(s), right by vineyards, it offered perfect seclusion while being close enough to the villages of Chace, Verrains, and Damperre sur Loire (by bike) to offer everyday necessities. Saumur itself is around 20 minutes cycling. We did have trouble finding it at first but this was probably down to us!

The gite itself was beautiful. We spent many night sitting out on the patio drinking wine from local vineyards in the quiet. Inside, it is beautiful. Excellent kitchen - everything there that you would need to cook up a rustic French dinner. The bedroom is elegant with exposed beams and very comfortable bed, and the whole building is built from local tuffeau stone, the prevalence of which in the region I'm told aids the growing of vines and makes excellent cellars.

From the gite's vineyard, the Cremant de Loire and organic Champigny Saumur rouge are delicious! The staff there are very friendly and accommodating too.

I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone, unless you wanted to bring more wine home - in which case, definitely bring a car!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
many thanks for this comment. It was a real pleasure to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mj6349
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;