We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel in great location”
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Broughton Astley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Budget hotel in great location”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Sohotel overlooks the Loire about 2 minutes downstream from the tourist office and town centre.
This is a small hotel, nicely fitted out with friendly staff. We paid €75 for a double room - comfy bed and adequate en-suite, which I think is a fare price.
There was free car parking in the street right next to the hotel.
Sleep quality is dependant on which room you ask for - front rooms have nice view but traffic noise, or back room - quiet but no view.
Saumur is a good place for food and wine. We enjoyed our brief stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montcaret, France
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This a comfortable, well located hotel, which was easy to find! The parking was very convenient and free in the area nearest the hotel. Once into the hotel, the receptionist was friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our room, though small was comfortable, colourful and well appointed. It and the shower room were spotless. A short walk took us to the centre and the castle, a really attractive place to wander around. The town has plenty of bars and restaurants and there is a very nice ambiance. We had a really pleasant evening, followed by a comfortable night's sleep. We didn't have the hotel breakfast- from experience " le petit dej " is rarely worth the money. Instead, we found a comfortable cafe, where we had good coffee and croissants for less than a third of the cost. And we got to see the world go by!

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room with a river view, preferably one with two windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brest, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Nice comfortable hotel with views over the Loire. I was welcomed very warmly and was in my room within 5 mins.

Like a lot of well-located hotels in charming old towns there is no lift, but I'd rather be in an old building in the centre of town than a well-equipped one in the suburbs. That said, the rest of the building is well kitted out and has very effective double glazing.

The room and bathroom were impeccably clean and tidy. I can't comment on the breakfast as I went out to a café, but the baskets of fresh croissants looked pretty tempting.

Loads of public parking nearby beside the church and in the quay down below. 5 min walk from the hotel to loads of restaurants, brasseries, cafés and bars.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Ignore the sites that out this down as a one star, it's far better than that. Beautiful views of the Loire and a great location. The room was gorgeous. The staff on reception were very friendly. No lift but we were on the first floor so it was no bother. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asmodeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed four nights in the cheapest room. There was therefore no view of the Loire enjoyed by other rooms.That said ,the room and bathroom were very clean, newly decorated and comfortable . All the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good value at 8 euros and the coffee and juice plentiful. Cereal, Yoghurt, fruit ,bread and croissants were all available. Free parking,good location for restaurants which were two roads back and easy walking to the Chateau all added up to an enjoyable break. The hotel though small with only 9 rooms is great value.I would recommend taking a hair dryer and toiletries.Also there was no hospitality tray in our room

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 6 have no view.Rooms 1,3,4,and 5 have Loire view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneE68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed one night at the Sohotel. We found it well located overlooking the river and within a short walk of the castle. Our room overlooked a courtyard at the back and a church with rather loud bells but they stopped in the evening and we had a very quiet night. The room was small but comfortable. The staff were friendly and everything went smoothly. The internet was fine in our room on the 2nd floor - a good signal and decent download speed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is very good value for money, with exceptionally welcoming staff. We chose it for it's location, within easy walking distance to the things to see, including the chateau, wine tasting events and restaurants. It also has free parking next to it and is located down the road from the tourist office, a very useful source of information!

The rooms are fairly basic, but in a good condition- we had an excellent shower, a selection of drinks and the free wifi worked brilliantly (we were in room 7 on the top floor). Breakfast had a selection of fresh pastries and bread, cereal, coffee, orange juice and a selection of other hot drinks. I thought it was perfectly adequate but it is not included in the price of the rooms so you could choose to eat in one of the nearby cafes instead.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cristal Hotel
Cristal Hotel
#10 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
0.4 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#2 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: 1 Place Kleber, 49400, Saumur, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing