We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveler rating
109
173
53
21
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
173
53
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverone nighttank museumexcellent locationcentre of townlovely hotelyogurtloireannexcastleeurosluggagefrance
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 373 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

We were travelling through Saumur with a tour group and didn’t have a large break for lunch. Cristal had an express menu of the day, the chèvre salad was very good, accompanied with a glass of vouvrey; the mains of pork and fish were full of flavour and nicely presented with a glass of house rose. I saw the cafe gormand go by and wished we had time to indulge but we didn’t. The staff were very helpful courteous and forgiving of our poor French language skills. I would like to return with more time to spare.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

We spent a very pleasant night at the Cristal Hotel. Our room had duel aspect windows and a wonderful view of the river and bridge. A very tasty meal in the evening and a well presented breakfast room with a good selection of goodies. Our only negative comments would be the steep stairs - luckily we were both able to make it up them! - and as we ate quite late on the outside terrace the tables and chairs were being stacked away while we were still eating - shame they couldn't have waited another 10 minutes!!!! Otherwise enjoyed our stay and would book again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank agibbs579787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018

We visited this restaurant following a trip to the tank museum and had a nice late lunch. The selection of food was interesting and the things we choose were very tasty. The Saumur chicken was similar to coq au vin but was done with a local red wine which gave it a rich flavour, recommended it its on the menu when you visit. Service was good with food arriving promptly.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We needed somewhere to eat before setting off on a trip of the wine Chateaux on the Loire near Saumur. The food was fine with a good selection and good friendly service. I can imagine this place gets very busy in the summer, but we had no trouble getting a seat when we just walked in over the Easter holidays.

I can happily recommend this place for lunch, it's not fine dining, but then it doesn't pretend to be. Good value for money as well.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Swcodfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017

We had a Deluxe Twin room facing the Loire river. #26 in the Annex. Large enough for my sister and I and we each had a place to sit with a small table between the chairs. The bathroom was very clean as was the room. Beds comfortable and large window that opened for fresh air. There was a kettle for those that want tea or instant coffee. The breakfast was just fabulous! For 10 Euros, well worth it, buffet style: cold cuts, cheese, yogurts, fresh fruit, wonderful croissants and pastries, coffee, juices, cereals and even a toaster for those that wanted it. I probably forgot some stuff but that's what I remember for now. It was about 7-8 Euro taxi ride to/from the train station. Very well located on the Loire and just down a short street to the pedestrian area where many shops and restaurants are located. You can also walk to the castle easily enough, about 15 minutes. We also ate at the restaurant a few times and everything was quite good. I would definitely return here again.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe rooms, well worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Moqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews