We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommend”
Review of Cristal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cristal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A big thank you to everyone at the Cristal Hotel for all your help and a lovely stay. I can't believe we are talking about the same hotel as the previous reviewer. We had booked for just one night at the hotel before intending to travel further south. Sadly our car broke down on our first day en route to Saumur. We managed to get to the Cristal, but again the next day had problems and had to have the car taken in for repairs. Our French is very limited but both of the receptionists, Alexandra and Catherine, were absolutely wonderful and helped with explaining our problems and fielding telephone calls for us. We then spent the next four nights in Saumur waiting to retrieve the car. The two different rooms we had during our time at the Cristal stay were spacious, spotlessly clean with wonderfully comfortable big beds and a great view of the Loire. The food was good and the service excellent. Sebastian and his his staff were extremely attentive and polite throughout our stay and even arranged another hotel for us on the one night they were already fully booked. The only slight down side would be that if you are a light sleeper the early morning sounds from outside might be disturbing. However, we would definitely stay at the Cristal again and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Cristal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 270 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Due to the difficulty in finding a restaurant on a Sunday night, our very kind hosts at La Verriere reserved a table at the Hotel Cristal's restaurant - Au Quai de la Loire. (which incidentally does not have a lovely view over the Loire, but over a busy car park and building work to a building adjacent!).
We arrived and were ignored at length. We finally accosted someone and told them that we had a reservation and they waved vaguely at several tables with 'Reserved'. When I chose one, we were told that this table was for 'preferred clients'! Obviously, not us.
We had waited quite a while, and when a waiter did arrive we asked if we could have our drinks as soon as possible as were actually very thirsty and then we could decide on what to eat. This isn't an unusual request, and in fact in all other restaurants, drinks are brought to the table extremely quickly, even if there is quite a wait for food.
We then waited for ages, and on finally catching the waiter's attention, I asked him if we could possibly have our drinks as a matter of urgency as we were really thirsty, and he shouted across that everyone was thirsty and that we would simply have to wait.
My husband can't bear anyone to make a fuss, and since the attitude had been pretty awful from this particular waiter/manager since our arrival - he said that he would prefer to go hungry than spend another minute being abused.
We asked for our bill for two drinks (E17.00 for 2 mixers!) and at that point the couple next to us who are actually from Saumur said that we had made the right decision to leave and that they were appalled that we had been treated in such a condescending and arrogant fashion. They apologised for the dreadful welcome we had endured and recommended another restaurant for us, where we had a lovely meal with exceptional service.
If you want to be treated like dirt, made to pay for the priviledge and be so obviously ignored, then this is the place to go. (Just incase I sound a nightmare, everwhere else we stayed and ate received 10/10)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank soniabradford10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Viv and I spent a wonderful two weeks staying at the Crystal Hotel in August. We were looked after wonderfully by friendly and efficient staff. Our room looked out over the Loir and was very comfortable and clean, it can be a bit noisy first thing in the morning with the street cleaners but it is worth it to have everywhere clean and tidy all the time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikephPwllheli_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay in Saumur if you want a wonderful view of the Loire. After cycling from La Possonniere it was great to have a room on the first floor with a balcony! The hotel room was clean and comfortable. Also there was a garage for the bikes which was about 50m from the hotel (make sure you get directions).
We had dinner at the restaurant which was outstanding. The service was great both at the bar and the restaurant. Other people we spoke to at dinner had also previously stayed at Hotel Ronsard and were repeat guests.
The location was wonderful for visiting the castle and was within close walking distance. We would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor overlooking the Loire River. Even with a restaurant below we did not have...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Excellent location, Warm friendly welcome. The bedrooms at the front can be noisy at the weekends. Service good throughtout our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Travelling and discovered Saumur had a Fete (1 July) and on speck stayed at this hotel. Staff were very helpful and room was spotless and comfortable and more importantly during Fete was quiet. Had a relaxing and agreeable meal overlooking fete folk music in square and talking to locals. Good value breakfast. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanielman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

my wife and i are pretty experienced - and demanding - travellers. it was a last minute decision to go to saumur and our usual hotel, anne d'anjou was booked out. The Cristal was a fabulous find. okay you have to climb a couple of flights of stairs but when you got there, a lovely big recently decorated room, with a perfect view of the loire river. the staff were so friendly and helpful, we ate a couple of times in the hotel restaurant, okay - if you want brilliant food in Saumur go to Le Gambetta, do not under any circumstances attempt to eat at Le Grand Bleu. But do give the Cristal a try it is a hotel full of character and charm.

Room Tip: obviously ask for one with a river view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#10 of 24 in Saumur
210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Hotel

Address: 10 Place de la Republique, 49400, Saumur, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: $80 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cristal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cristal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristal Logis De France Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing