We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for exploring Saumur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau De Verrieres
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for exploring Saumur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

A lovely house within 15 minutes stroll of the centre of town. We had the General's room which is more akin to a suite and was large and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was split with a soaking tub and basin in in one room and a shower, toilet and basin in the other. The owners are delightful and make great restaurant suggestions. Wifi worked well. The swimming pool looked very pleasant though we didn't use it. My only quibble is the cost of breakfast. 17 euros for a basic buffet - and for us that meant coffee, a pastry, an orange juice and maybe a yogurt- is way too much. The price goes up to 22 euros if you want cheese, cold cuts and eggs. My suggestion is to stay here but meander up the restaurant 'au coin' in Saumur where you will enjoy coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice and very good croissant at 17 euros for two people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank 4994MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    42
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
266
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otleylad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Have stayed at chateau Verrieres on four occasions in a variety of rooms and all are beautifully furnished with antiques but contain the necessary modern amenities making a relaxing atmosphere. There is always a warm and friendly welcome from hosts Thierry and Yolaine . Luggage is taken to your room. There are nice gardens and have seen red squirrels racing through the trees. Thierry and Yolaine are ready to offer knowledgable advice on places to visit and on local restaurants which they will make reservations for. We will keep returning.Thankyou

Room Tip: All rooms are of a superb quality but the rear rooms overlook the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We recently stayed here for the last two nights of our French holiday and it was a wonderful way to finish. Hosts and staff who were friendly and helpful and a beautiful building. Our bedroom was large and cool and the en-suite bathroom wonderfully appointed. It's very well situated with easy access in and out of Saumur but within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and the river. I thoroughly recommend staying here and hope to return soon myself.

Room Tip: Take a good look at the website because all the rooms are different. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our stay here was the jewel in the crown of a great bicycle trip that ended in Saumur. After a lot of really great places to stay on our bicycle trip we really enjoyed the elegant and cozy atmosphere of this special Chateau. Our hosts made us part of their home along with their dog Uno who escorted us along the pathways of the grounds and showed us the route to breakfast most mornings. There are various rooms, but we found ours thoughtfully decorated and laid out. Others were even more marvelous.

We were pleased to see our hosts working around the house to make it presentable and welcoming. Afterall, we work hard on our own home and understand that a beautiful home requires a level of commitment.

This stay makes Saumur pop out in the Loire valley which is studded with great places to stay……….

Room Tip: No restaurant but good choices nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

What a wonderful find! We recently spent 6 days at Chateau de Verrieres - using Saumur as our base to explore the Loire Valley. Yolaine and Thierry are wonderful hosts - helpful and accommodating without being intrusive. The Chateau is beautifully decorated and our en-suite bedroom was pleasantly large. I can highly recommend this charming Chateau! We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We spent two nights here. It is a fantastic location, just on the edge of Saumur but you go through the gates and feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. The Chateau is as it should be and feels authentic without being stuffy. There is a lovely pool and grounds. The hosts can't do enough for you. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyVBerkhamsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We spent a weekend in this truly treasure-like hotel and there is nothing I can think off not being excellent !! The service was perfect, the hospitality very friendly, breakfast excellent, rooms in perfect condition and decorated with love. We will return !

Room Tip: it is worth to have a look at each room on the site as far as mentioned. They all are fantastic but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#3 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Adagio
BEST WESTERN Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.4 mi away
Domaine de Presle
Domaine de Presle
#15 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De Verrieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De Verrieres

Property: Chateau De Verrieres
Address: 53 rue d Alsace, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saumur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau De Verrieres 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrières is an élégant Château, built in 1895 to host receptions and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School. It has been artfully restored. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with a heated pool. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrières. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau De Verrieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing