We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Chateau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Can thoroughly recommend, very comfortable place to stay. Gorgeous old building, beautifully restored, full of antiques and history. Rooms are very spacious and airy. Great location close to the centre of Saumur. The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25_London_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 434 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

We are a couple from Hamburg, Germany, and stayed at the Chateau for 1 night in July during our tour of the Loire Valley. It was by far the most amazing place we stayed at and we were very impressed by the exceptionally kind hospitality of our hosts. There are only a few rooms in the chateau and the place has a very exclusive and yet very personal feel to it. You can wander around the beautiful garden and the common rooms downstairs and feel as if it is your own chateau! We would recommend it to any other couple looking for a highlight to their vacation in France!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoScha1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We were very fortunate to stay at Chateau Verrieres recently.
The Chateau is charming and elegant but the most impressive feature was the hospitality of our hosts Thierry and Yoland.
My wife is chronically ill and needed to frequently rest. This was gracefully assisted by Thierry and Yoland who went out of their way to make her stay a very enjoyable one. All the staff memnbers were friendly and helpful while the location was just a short walk from many excellent restaurants. Our room "Papillons" was beautiful.
Both of us would like to return in the future.
John and June Scally

Room Tip: Papillons excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnScally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We changed the itinerary of our Europe holiday to ensure we could stay at the Chateau for three nights, and certainly didn't regret it.
We picked up a hire car from our TGV stop at Angers st Laud, and drove 45 mins to Saumur. Arriving at the Chateau we were welcomed by Uno ( the owner's gorgeous dog ), and then by charming owners Thierry and Yolande.
We were amazed at how beautiful the entire property is, both inside and outside. The formal sitting and dining rooms are stunning with antique furniture and quality French furnishings. Sunshine beams through the beautiful leadline windows alongside of the staircase, as you walk upstairs to the bedrooms.
We were gobsmacked by the beautiful green toned room allocated to our three teenage sons, which was at the middle of the house on the first floor, looking out over the front yard. Their bathroom was huge, with an antique clawfoot bath.
Our room was directly across the hall, and was equally stunning, with beautiful furnishings of blue and green with a slight Asian influence. My husband described the room and the entire Chateau as intoxicating, and it was an effort to drag him from our room ! We spent a lazy Sunday afternoon in our room, just napping and reading, with a beautiful breeze coming through our large windows. Another day we had an impromptu picnic lunch in the backyard, with entertainment provided by Uno. Life doesn't get much better than this.
We went to three different restaurants during our stay, our favourite being Les Escargots, which was a quick walk away, and very reasonably priced ( 24 euros p.p. ).
There was a market one morning in the village, which was fun to stroll around., and the Saumur Chateau was quite interesting. There is enough or as little to do as you like in
Saumur, but to be honest we didn't do much sightseeing as were were too busy lapping up the atmosphere of Verrieres !
We absolutely loved everything about this place, and it even started us talking of moving to France ( a long way, and a big change from Australia !) In any event, we certainly envisage another stay at the Chateau when we return to France.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bali-dreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at the Chateau de Verrieres a couple of days in June. We were looking for a small chateau from where to enjoy the Loire nature and see a couple of castles.
The ambience was just great, the owners extremely welcoming and ready to advice us on what to do and where to eat in the evening. It felt really like being in a magic and historical home! Our room was nice and clean, with high ceilings and was furnished with antiques.
The chateau offers also a swimming pool and a big park where one can walk around or just sit to enjoy the breeze and sun and relax.
Would definitely recommend and will go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescaFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Yolande and Thierry own and manage this delightful Chateau in the heart of Saumur, in the western Loire Valley. The definition of hospitality is inviting someone into your home and treating them as your very special guest. Our experience at the Chateau de Verrieres is the best examply of true hospitality I have seen in recent years. The hotel and park are immaculate in every respect and speak volumes about the sense of pride of the owners. I am not sure who of the two has the incredible attention to detail, however, the only way to desribe our stay is perfect. The hotel oozes history and style - yes it is a bit old fashioned - but isn't that what all of us look forward to when we visit the Loire. Congratulations to Yolande and Thierry for doing an exceptional job and for delivering an exceptional guest experience.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend their Zen inspired suite - truly delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pomerol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were given a truly warm welcome and first class service that was continued throughout our 7 night stay at this splendid chateau in Saumur. We booked this partly on the strength of other excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and the visit more than lived up to our highest expectations. The Chateau is spectacular inside and out and the garden/park setting is perfect for a stroll. Our room was the "Romantique" XVIII which had been carefully decorated in an 18th Century style with period furniture, plenty of space, very clean and well serviced and with a great view of the gardens/park. We felt very safe and secure during our stay and considering the close proximity to the centre of town the rooms were very quiet at night.

Our hosts Thierry and Yolaine, as other reviewers have commented, were delightful, helpful and gracious. Their guidance on restaurants, visits, wine etc. very much added to our experience and ensured that we got the best out of our visit to the Loire. Saumur is definitely a good choice for a base here to explore and this hotel is a short walk from some excellent quality restaurants.

Perhaps the best place that we have stayed - and excellent value for money. Thoroughly recommended - we look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 26 in Saumur
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#12 of 26 in Saumur
228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
2.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 26 in Saumur
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 26 in Saumur
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Verrieres & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Verrieres & Spa

Address: 53 Rue d Alsace, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saumur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: $189 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Verrieres & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrières is an élégant Château, built in 1895 to host receptions and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School. It has been artfully restored, romantic atmosphere. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with a heated pool, spa and sauna. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrières. Free wi-fi and parking. All comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau de Verrieres & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing