We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most hospitable and welcoming hosts ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful few nights at Chateau de Verrieres last month, and can thoroughly recommend this delightful hotel to other travellers to the region. Saumur is centrally located for exploring many of the lovely chateaux and vineyards of the Loire, and our superb hosts Thierry and Yolaine with their passion and enthusiasm for the Loire Valley were our daily inspiration for information and recommendations for days out, tourist attractions, restaurants and scenic drives. We’d never have thought for example of visiting a Tank Museum (Musee des Blindes) within 5 minutes of Verrieres and that it would prove such a fascinating and thought provoking morning’s visit, and Yoliane’s help to find the most delightful restaurant for lunch set in gardens overlooking the Loire was priceless - we would never have found it without ‘insider knowledge’!

Chateau de Verrieres is a stunning house set in large grounds, it dates from around 1895 and was built for a General of Napoleon III, before passing to one of the local wine families. Thierry and Yolaine bought it from them just 8 years ago, and have devoted their time to restoring the house to provide 10 exquisitely beautiful en suite rooms and suites. We loved our room, called The General in memory of the original owner and reputed to have been his bedroom, but on a quiet day Yolaine showed us around some other vacant rooms and they are all exceptional. The rooms have all been individually restored and furnished, with hand blocked wallpaper, silk wall panelling and tasteful antiques– incidentally, although the house is in a town the gardens are big enough to feel secluded and it is very quiet - with a perfect bed so comfortable - we slept so well!

Breakfast is served buffet style in a bright and beautiful basement room with vaulted ceilings and good light from high set windows, it is continental style and includes numerous croissants, pains au chocolat and muffins. All are delicious and a welcome change for us traditional Brits!

The hotel does not provide evening meals but then again it does not have to. There are at least a dozen excellent restaurants between 5 and 20 minutes walk from the hotel, and Yolaine and Thierry are happy to recommend their favourites to you and make reservations on your behalf – they never let us down in their choices and it is worth mentioning here that Saumur should be considered a ‘gourmet destination’ – if you are foodies like us you will not be disappointed, La Gambetta, L’Alchemiste and L’Escargot all deserve places in the Michelin Guide!! And after a lovely evening meal it was glorious to return to our base (which we soon became accustomed to calling ‘home’) to stay a while in the wood panelled reception rooms beautifully lit with candles and chandeliers and listen to the faint sound of classical music wafting through.

Would we go again? Yes, in a heartbeat! It is not budget accommodation, but it is worth every Euro!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 435 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

We were not necessarily going to stay in Saumur but the website and reviews of this Chateau looked great so we stayed one night while driving in the Loire. We were glad we did as it was comfortable, plush, interesting to stay in and extremely friendly. We couldnt fault it and while it was on the expensive side we did think it a good experience --just like staying with family!
We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Your trip to the Val de Loire should include Saumur and this amazing chateau. Owners Yolaine and Thierry have clearly made it their labor of love and it shows. Verrieres is magnificent, our room (a Romantique) was beautiful and huge, and the old town and Chateau de Saumur, as well as many fine restaurants are an easy walk away. The warm and personal attention from the very nice owners (and dog Uno) makes a stay at this place a very memorable experience. We have found the ambiance at many elegant places, especially in France, to be a little on the chilly side. Not so here. Rarely have we been made to feel so comfortable in a hotel!

Room Tip: Suggest one of the Romantiques. Beautiful, huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Top class hotel with fantastic personal service from a genuinely, attentive and friendly family who do everything they can to make sure your stay is to your satisfaction. A beautiful big house with history, surrounded by a big park and nature providing its own sanctuary and yet it's just a five minute walk from the very centre of Saumur. We will definately be going back.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet, both park- and courtyard facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oygunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

As with one of the prior reviewers, this place was so special that it led me to write this, my first trip advsior review. The Chateau was built by a wealthy general in Napoleon III' s time. The Chateau's owners, Yolaine & Thierry retired from an international business life and lovingly restored the Chateau and converted it into this intimate hotel filled with antiques that they have collected over the years. The public rooms are stunnning. The bedrooms are large and extremely comfortable with equipment for making coffee or tea in handsome china. The bathrooms are large and well equipped. The rooms have tranquil views over the surrounding park. Staying here is more like a country weekend with friends than being at a hotel. To top it off their well behaved dog looks like he came out of a William Steig book. The breakfasts were excellent. Our hosts made dinner reservations for us each night (at places all within easy walking distance) and told us what to expect at each establishment. They also gave us sound advice on nearby gardens, antique stores, chateaus and country drives. (They also helped us make train reservations.) I believe that Yolaine and Thierry have been running this place for 7 or 8 years and I am sure they will not continue forever so go while you have the chance.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JADG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We just returned from a week tasting wine and scouting out the chateaus in the Loire Valley with both sets of our parents.
We lucked out in choosing the Chateau de Verrieres to stay while in Saumur.
From the moment we arrived (greeted at our van by the owners and their cute dog!), shown to our GORGEOUS (huge too) rooms (Suite and 2 Jr. Suites), to breakfast each morning, dining & touring suggestions, we were treated like part of the family. We all felt so welcome in the regal setting.
The location is perfect also. It's a cinch to walk to town. The surrounding park-like grounds only adds to the beauty.
There is not one thing I would change and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkelliher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We chose the Chateau de Verrieres as our base for a week's touring in the Loire - and we simply couldn't have made a better choice! The hotel is beautiful, it's in a super location, furnished and styled with an elegant eye and owned and run with impeccable care by Yolaine & Thierry. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: Book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyandGabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saumur
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 26 in Saumur
424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#12 of 26 in Saumur
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Les Terrasses de Saumur
Les Terrasses de Saumur
#1 of 2 in Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
349 reviews
11.5 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
7.3 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Verrieres & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Verrieres & Spa

Address: 53 Rue d Alsace, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#1 Family Hotel in Saumur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: $204 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Verrieres & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verrières is an élégant Château, built in 1895 to host receptions and elegant parties for the officers from the famous Cavalry School. It has been artfully restored, romantic atmosphere. Only 10 rooms and Suite to welcome you. Each room is unique, filled with light through the high windows. Verrieres stands in huge grounds with a heated pool, spa and sauna. Step in directly into the heart of old Saumur and make your choice among the delicious restaurant located around Verrières. Free wi-fi and parking. All comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau de Verrieres & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Verrieres Saumur
Chateau De Verrieres Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing