We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful haven”
Review of Hotel Saint-Pierre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tasteful haven”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel was a lovely base for one night. The owners were so helpful and proud of the hotel, a family concern for a number of years. Rooms were so tastefully decorated and the bathroom well equipped with all high quality toiletries. The reception area and bar was lovely. No restaurant but the location was central to the town and many places to eat. Oh the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    92
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
238
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This small hotel has a great location and is stylish and comfortable (with an elevator--yay!). We reserved one of their free parking spaces, right outside the door, next to the cathedral. We had a Double Grand Comfort room, which was large and looked out at the cathedral. We walked up to the chateau, a fairy-book design overlooking the Loire. The cathedral is closed for restoration. Regis made a great recommendation for dinner (Le Grand Bleu). Opted for breakfast in a boulangerie a few blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShowMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Saint-Pierre in 2011 and had no hesitation in returning this year. If anything, it was even better than the first time. Regis is a very gracious host and extremely helpful. Our room was enormous and had all the charm befitting the age of the building. The hotel is right next to the market square. Try to go there on a Saturday so that you can experience Saumur's famous market. Breakfast is excellent with a superb choice of fruit, cereals, bread, pastries and freshly cooked crepes. Parking is available and needs to be booked in advance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian and Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel in mid November for 2 days. It's a very nice and cozy hotel hidden in the centre of city of Saumur. The location is great, near several nice restaurants and main city attractions. You can do everything by foot, it's a short walk. We've arrived late at night and we've received a warm welcome from the owner of the hotel, Regis. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. Besides being nice, give good tips and directions about the city, Regis is able to prepare a wonderful breakfast! We recommend this hotel!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MaluArantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here quite a few times over the years for work. Stunning Building with fantastic stone work. Good price for what it is. One of the best Whiskey collections I have ever had the pleasure of drinking. Rooms are very ,, very nice. If your travels take you to this part of the world, you could do a lot worse than the Saint Pierre.

Room Tip: Any I have stayed in were great. Not sure what Saumur is like in Summer , but in winter is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcadogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Absolutely spotless, beautiful décor, I loved every item on display in this hotel, attention to detail in the décor is amazing. I just loved the style. Very comfortable spacious room and shower, very friendly owner, great location in the centre of old Saumur, absolutely perfect!

Small parking next to the hotel, restricted but very comfortable – need to book in advance.

There was a kit in the bathroom which included manicure set, shoe polish etc (see picture for detail), which was very thoughtful (and unusal). There was even a kettle in the cupboard with tea and coffee (without milk though). The hotel has a lift, which is very handy.

Merci Regis, enjoyed our stay in your immaculate hotel!

PS the picture of the bathroom does not do justice to the beautiful coloured décor, bewarned!

Room Tip: Any room I think would be PERFECT, it is a spotless hotel with great attention to detail
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTraveller848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
291 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We picked this hotel for its location in the central Loire valley. It is charming, good value and wonderfully located near the heart of the old town of Saumur. Parking has to be booked in advance and is a bit limited and a bit of a tight squeeze, but we always had someone from the hotel to help guide us in and out of tight parking spaces and help with reversing back onto the road. The room was not huge but had oodles of charm and the bathroom was more than adequate,clean & tidy. Th.e communal rooms and small terrace had a lovely atmosphere and the G&Ts were huge! We were mainly looked after by the owner, Regis who couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was included and was superb! Regis also recommended a couple of restaurants in the old town, one of which was very good but the other a little lacking. Overall excellent base for exploring the Loire.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardVUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau De Verrieres
Chateau De Verrieres
#6 of 24 in Saumur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
1.8 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Pierre

Property: Hotel Saint-Pierre
Address: 8 haute saint pierre, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#7 Family Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint-Pierre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sophisticated XVth and XVIIth century setting, this establishment situated in the same axis as the Castle, saw centuries of history and knew how to upkeep its character, style, and soul. The prestige winding within the spiral staircase, is also present in the highrise fireplaces in Tuffeau, and the massive exposed beams. Here luxury is set off serenely in a well-kept decor, textiles and fabrics of exception, attractive mosaics in the bathrooms. The Hotel Saint Pierre conjugates tradition, comfort and the latest in modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Saint-Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saint Pierre
Saint Pierre Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing