We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, charming friendly hotel in Saumur Center. Gabrielle London”
Review of Hotel Saint-Pierre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed here twice in same month. Lovely medieval building with provencal style rooms comfortable, quiet and ideally located overlooking an ancient church, near a square with great restaurants. We arrived during the snow and the staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. I then came by myself to buy a house and they looked after me again parking my car, luggage etc very friendly I was exhausted from driving so I really appreciated being pampered. Breakfast is lovely as well in a little courtyard overall superb.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet, some overllok the church some the courtyard all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GabrielleT810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 414 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

Located a few steps from the Church of St Pierre, this aptly named 18th century stone building houses a quiet, comfortable, modern hotel which has been decorated with flair.

Our enthusiastic and professional host Regis greeted us upon arrival and checked us into our charming room, then provided us with a map of Saumur, showing a walking tour with information on the marked points of interest.

Although WiFi was available in the bar, Regis very kindly provided us with a modem, to ensure that we had good access to the Internet in our room.

In the morning, we were treated to a sumptuous breakfast, served in a delightful setting.

All in all the hotel provides excellent value and we would happily return!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed three nights in Saumur and used it as a base for exploring the beautiful Loire Valley. The Hotel Saint-Pierre has a superb location only 50 metres from the main market square. Our room was very spacious and well appointed. The host, Regis, could not have been more welcoming and helpful - and he does a fabulous breakfast. The hotel has parking on site which was important to us. We timed our visit to Saumur to coincide with the Saturday market which was a fantiastic experience and spread through the whole of the old town. We will return to the Hotel Saint-Pierre next time we are in the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian and Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We had two nights stay recently at the Hotel St Pierre. When we arrived we were a little worried about what we were going to do with our hire car during our stay and were pleasantly surprised to find that there was parking in the hotel courtyard. The room was very nicely furnished and looked out onto the cathedral. We were really impressed with the breakfast which was very generous (unlike many French hotel breakfasts) and also found it particularly nice of the hotel to not charge us for our 9yo daughter's breakfast. Saumur is a lovely town and a good centre for exploring the Loire and the Hotel St Pierre was a perfect place to stay there. The public areas of the hotel are very chic and comfortable and the staff were pleasant and helpful, so overall we couldn't fault anything. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the old town probably more charming than overlooking the slightly more modern apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We just ended a 3 day stay and were very pleased with the hotel. The owner Regis was very helpful and accomodating. The room and bathroom were comfortable and clean. The lobby area was warm and inviting. The location is great - right in the old area near cafes and shopping. Good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We loved the week we spent at this delightful and charming hotel. We chose to use Saumur as a central location to explore the chateaus and countryside and were not at all disappointed. Our room was spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated (as is the entire hotel). We were able to park our rental car in the car park and slip on to the ubiquitous D7 on our daily jaunts. The hotel is located at the side of the cathedral and is only a minutes walk from the " town square" bustling with visitors residents,restaurants and the Saturday market. The owner is a warm and friendly host who goes out of his way to ensure your stay is comfortable and fun. Although hotel is intimate one never feels crowded as there are plenty of nooks and a lovely courtyard to relax and unwind.Breakfast is delicious or just have a really good coffee to start your day. We would stay here again without hesitation.Thank you Regis for enhancing our "lost in the Loire" adventures .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hspsaumur, Propriétaire at Hotel Saint-Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Hello, I am very happy to read news from you. Thank you for your wonderful message and encouragement. I hope to see you again, what a pleasure to meet people very pleasant like you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Hotel is tucked down a lane in the old quarter near the chateaux. They have a park but we just parked out the front. It is a beautiful building and really tastefully decorated. The guy at recpetion was really polite and helpful and the room was absolutely perfect. Good size, felt really luxurious and high quality. The hotel is only small with maybe 15 bedrooms. Very good value for money.

The location is excellent. Literally 30 seconds walk to the lovely old town square with a great choice of bars and restaurants. What is even better is that on Saturday morning there is a huge market right there in the square and surrounding streets. The main shopping boulevards are an easy short walk away and there are a good selection of shops to have a wander around. The clothing shops are mostly quite young themed so I guess this must also be a university town. You are completely spoiled for choice on where to eat and drink in the immediate vicinity of the Hotel so I can imagine why we would stay anywhere else on any return trip. We will definately stay here again and recommend to friends without hesitation.

The really wonderful little bit of customer service though was in the morning we discovered a little ticket on our car window. We hadn't realised you had to pay for parking outside and consequently we hadn't paid. We would have got a parking ticket if the receptionist had not paid the one euro parking fee unbeknown to us! Thats a really nice touch so we will get him something when we go back through next time. Thank you Hotel Saint-Pierre.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandysviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
0.2 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Pierre

Address: 8 Haute Saint Pierre, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saumur
#5 Family Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: $106 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint-Pierre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sophisticated XVth and XVIIth century setting, this establishment situated in the same axis as the Castle, saw centuries of history and knew how to upkeep its character, style, and soul. The prestige winding within the spiral staircase, is also present in the highrise fireplaces in Tuffeau, and the massive exposed beams. Here luxury is set off serenely in a well-kept decor, textiles and fabrics of exception, attractive mosaics in the bathrooms. The Hotel Saint Pierre conjugates tradition, comfort and the latest in modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saint-Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saint Pierre
Saint Pierre Hotel Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing