We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Adagio
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Located 500 metres from Saumur railway station the Best Western Adagio provided a comfortable base for our exploration of this interesting town. Rooms are relatively small but ours was clean and had a comfortable bed. One definite bonus was free wi-fi.

The hotel is situated on a largish island betweent the railway side and the main town on Saumur. It is about a 10 minute walk to the town centre.

Although the selection at breakfast was somewhat limited the quality was very good - particularly the coffee.

Overall we enjoyed a very pleasant stay and felt we received good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RGYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 290 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights - our room was depressing with the dark walls and furniture and a rather garish thin yellow curtain. Our handwash supplid for the showering was not checked daily and ran out. The bathroom floor was not swept as hairs remained. The work top not cleaned from day one as the marks remained from our coffee cups.. The mini bar was not topped up after use on first day. Little milk/tea bags supplied - only enough for one cup each (although we did get if asked for). 2 out of 6 lights did not work.
On the few occasions we did speak to reception they came across as unhelpful.
Had better says at other hotels.
The location is good, still heard the road noise despite a form of double glazing.
Very hard and uncomfortable beds - back ache every morning.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moorali21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Checked in last minute after disastrous 1 hour stay at La Croix Blanche. Dorothy on reception was lovely, very helpful and charming. We stayed in a room with huge bed, lovely furnishings, air con and double bathroom sinks! Secure underground parking was a bonus. Had dinner at Le Trianon (highlight) and left next day rested and chilled. Thank your for a lovely (if short) stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pubdog33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

The Adagio is situated on Isle Offard which is a small island in the river Loire in the center of Saumur.

We stayed in an Elegance room which was a good size and well equiped, with a north eastern view over the river. At this time of year the hotels offer BOGOF's and a two night stay came to 150 euro with breakfast.

Breakfast was typical continental but everything was fresh with good coffee and overlooking the Loire with the sun rising - good start to the day.

The hotel has secure parking 7 euor per night, however there appears to be plenty of on-street parking at this time of year.

There is a good choice of restaurants which are a short walk over the bridge into the town about 60 to 70 euro for two with wine.

Our chateau itinery was Saumur, Chinon, Usse, Azzay Le Rideau, and Villandry, all within a short car drive from Saumur.

We also ventured into and quickly out of Tours - not much to see and very heavy traffic.

Over all a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyGJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Whilst only stayed the one night we did retuen to Saumur a week later and it was booked out - Lovely hotel - Pleasant staff - good breakfast
Highly recommended and would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redd27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Stayed here for one night - arrived early evening. Receptionist pleasant enough, bars and restaurant didn't seem to be open but we grabbed a great takeaway pizza to eat in the room. We had a triple room, which was plenty big enough, and was clean. A good stay,

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was a nice room, very clean if a bit small and crowded. Lots of dark panelling which didn't help.

Receptionist had good enough English and recommended a good downtown,crepes cafe, La Bigouden, for supper. Streets were narrow with no parking close to the creperie, but there is good public parking about 1.5 blocks NW of the cafe. We arrived at the cafe just before closing, but the owner was very kind and accommodating. Good food.

There is an excellent museum of army tanks in Saumur; WW I, WW II and thru the cold war.

Hotel parking was secure, covered, and close to the hotel, but the parking area was small, the spaces themselves were small and it was hard to maneuver our small car in the garage.

We liked Samur and the hotel. We'd return to both hotel and town.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
1.4 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kyriad Saumur Centre
Kyriad Saumur Centre
#10 of 24 in Saumur
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Adagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Adagio

Address: 94 avenue du General de Gaulle, 49400, Saumur, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: $81 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Adagio 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully decorated, the hotel has thirty-eight warmly welcoming guest rooms, two of them suitable for guests with reduced mobility. All the rooms are insulated for sound and air conditioned, are either smoking or non smoking, and most of the rooms have a view over the Loire. Wi-fi connection available free in the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Adagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saumur
Saumur Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing