We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance of a bygone age.”
Review of Anne d'Anjou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anne d'Anjou
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have stayed about 3 times in this lovely hotel The building itself is beautiful and
sympathetically restored. Each time our rooms were very comfortable and immaculate.
The staff are all fluent in English, attentive and charming. Sitting in the courtyard garden
with a glass of wine looking up at the chateau is a treat and the restaurant at the bottom
of the garden can't be faulted. Breakfast is buffet style and delicious. In the evening if
you are not up to a full restaurant meal the staff with happily bring you plates of cold ham
and cheese to go with your wine. Every help is given by the staff with organising trips,
or booking restaurants or your next hotel. It is an absolute delight.

Room Tip: You can always ask to see the room first. A view of the castle and garden is my personal favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAA, Manager at Anne d'Anjou, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear guest,
Many thanks for your nice comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Anne d'Anjou.
We will certainly share your positive remarks with our team which is always ready to welcome our clients and make them feel satisfied and happy.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 213 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is at the base of an incredible castle. It is within walking distance of several restaurants and taverns. There is a restaurant at the hotel that also serves a great meal with seating affording visitors a great view of the castel on the hill. It is a "do-over" on our next trip to the Loire Valley.

Room Tip: Get a room to the rear of the hotel and wake up to a view of the castel above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan-Julie-Hox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Regardless of the delays we experienced at the hands of eurostar both coming and returning and no taxis at saumur train station when we eventually arrived therefore requiring us to walk the 30 mins to the hotel, it was worth it.

Crossing the bridge to the old town was our first glimpse of the hotel and chateau. Beautiful.
The style and design fits in perfectly with the theme of the old town. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre and many first class restaurants and shops, along with being on the river makes this an ideal place to see and explore Saumur and beyond.
The service was friendly, polite and spoke much better english than my french.
You must try the restaurant- excellent

Room Tip: We had a rear facing room that overlooked the beautiful and peaceful courtyard. A glimse of the chat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_P6680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Anne d'Anjou was recently upgraded from three to four stars. While there is a couple of really nice rooms, average room is very small, with a tiny bathroom. The renovations made in the 90s are starting to date by now and the hotel looks a bit run down. The sound insulation of the windows is non-existent so if you get a room on the side of the street you should be prepared to be woken up by the noise of the cars driving very fast. The biggest disappointment is the breakfast, it frankly does not meet the level of four stars, not even three, actually. Bad pastry (rare in France), bad tea, the eggs look like they were there since last week... We stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and it used to be much better. The personnel is very nice though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed three nights at Anne D'anjou hotel, room 212 with the best view of the chateau and the wonderful courtyard. Night view of chateau just beautiful. Hotel very nice, check out the ceiling above the staircase, WOW! Rooms good size with all facilities. Try cheese & wine in the courtyard after a long day of sight seeing, fabulous! Staff very good and all appear to speak english. Easy walk to centre of Saumur, if there on a Saturday the local market is a must. Creperie in village square is excellent:)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennedys2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here the last night of a bike trek through the Loire Valley, loved it! The front desk service was very good, but a little 'Parisian' smug. Hotel is full service. If you are travelling with a friend, request the twin room on the ground level. Off the courtyard, very nice. The restaurant is outstanding, do NOT even bother to go elsewhere for dinner : ). Breakfast buffet is also quite good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHdreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The highlight of the hotel is the lovely courtyard with views of Chateau de Saumur - a perfect place to sip a glass of Saumur sparkling. The hotel is charmingly appointed, though our particular room was a tad on the worn side. The staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. The convenient riverside location is a short stroll from numerous restaurants and shops. Can't speak to the hotel restaurant as we did not eat there.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the courtyard and chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandavr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
12.0 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
1.8 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne d'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne d'Anjou

Address: 32 quai Mayaud, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: $90 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anne d'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine 18th century hotel is situated a stone's throw away from the city of Saumur, enjoying the opulent beauty of the River Loire running gracefully nearby. Listed façade, sumptuous staircase crowned by a trompe-l'oeil ceiling - all the prestigious hallmarks of the past have been preserved and enhanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Anne d'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne d`Anjou Hotel Saumur
Anne d Anjou Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing