We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IF YOU LOVE HORSES...”
Review of Le Cadre Noir

Le Cadre Noir
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
321 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“IF YOU LOVE HORSES...”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were very fortunate to be able to attend a daytime demonstration/performance of the Cadre Noir in Sept 2012 as they apparently don't happen often. Horsemanship in France is taken very seriously and here they train exceptional horses. The skill of the men and women riders was amazing in what they can have the horses do. If you love horses and get the chance, don't miss it! This riding academy has been around for close to 150 years.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    186
    50
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shamley Green
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Amazing to see the horses and how good a well thought out riding yard can be. There is very little going on in August as almost everyone is on holiday, but we still had a great tour with an English speaking guide.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank annaprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertford
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good tour - well worth the visit”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I got dragged along to this by my horsey wife and daughters. Staff were very helpful, friendly and were happy to do english speaking tours.

good overview of the history, background, the arena and also behind the scenes in the stables.

Guide answered all our questions and was happy for us to interact with the horses.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrisuHertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic show”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We went to the Summer festival show which was fantastic! We also added the tour to our tickets and this was brilliant. Our guide was very imformative and funny, and we learnt so much about the hsitory of the Cadre Noir through to how it operates today. One of our group has no real interest in horses but he was totally captivated and said it was one of the highlights of his holiday. I would recommend this to anyone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Truly amazing”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic morning out. Show was great. Should have prebooked tickets as there was a long queue, but a really memorable event

Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cadre Noir also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Le Cadre Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing