We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Huttopia Saumur
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just wanted to say what a lovely campsite this is. Perfectly positioned above the Loire river, nice and quiet, clean, well equipped and good value. My wife and I had a pitch overlooking the Loire which was awesome. We would love to stay here again, only next time for much longer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 137 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just spent two weeks at the campsite in a campervan. booked in advance- communication great. Arrived to a friendly reception and all facilities explained. Huge pitch!- We did request the larger of pitches, but on reflection the normal sized pitches are just fine and very adequate. Spotlessly clean everywhere- there is always someone going around cleaning. To freezers available to enable you to freeze ice packs- very handy and no charge. Plenty of showers- no queues.Pool was very clean- when we arrived it did appear busy but after a few days it soon quietened down.
small shop on site- very adequate, not to far from Saumur.
Onsite food was very good too.
Our 9year old son, really enjoyed the site and wants to go back next year- very safe for the children.
There were no negatives about this site- it was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank butty681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Been here for a few nights before moving on in each of the last 3 summers. We always wished we stayed longer. Really nice relaxed place. Camping pitches are excellent. Nice mix of other campers, caravans and statics. Kids always make friends. Loads to do in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlfNoax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had just over two weeks at this lovely site in a great part of France. The site is spotlessly clean with excellent facilities. A great little shop and really friendly and helpful Reception staff. A tip would be to book an extra large pitch as they really are huge. The pitches overlooking the river are smaller and feel more enclosed. The site is quiet (just young families about) and full of beautiful flowers, trees and shrubs.
This is a brilliant area for cycling and its an easy and safe ride into Saumur - but a bit of a slog for the last mile back up a long hill. A Magnum from the shop or a dip in the pool on your return makes it all worthwhile!
Saumur is a lovely town with lots of cafes and restaurants and a great market. This is a great wine growing region too and there are so many wine cellars to visit it is difficult to choose which one. All in all a great find and we shall return. Only 3.5 hours from Caen on easy roads. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hillerymillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just returned from this site. Wonderful holiday! Views of the valley and river stunning with seats to sit & view. Staff wonderful, nothing too much trouble. Wifi a bit hit and miss but free and usable although slow. Cycling by river meant a long climb back up to camp but wonderful cycling along the many lanes directly from camp. So near Saumur with great shopping, and lovely old quarter too. Numerous wine cellars to visit, all on the doorstep, very friendly with free wine tasting and no pressure to buy. Will definitely return here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was my first time camping. My girlfriend, whom has a lot more experience, wanted it to be special so I let her choose.

One may argue if a camping site should be comfortable or bare bones depending on preferences but I believe noone would criticise Chantepie's special feature: the views of the Loire. Pitches are located on the edge of a hill with amazing views of the valley below. Waking up in the morning and seeing from your "balcony" the river waters as they cross the heart of France is quite special.

For the rest I enjoyed the facilities: there is a reasonable amount of provisions for the technology-minded (electricity, WiFi) and the common areas were clean and reasonably close to the pitches. I also thought that size of each pitch was convenient.

All in all I'd return to Chantepie if I were to give camping a go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrodcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We chose one of the largest pitches, and were glad for that... Those nearer the river view are much more worn, and feel comparatively cramped, but ours was double size. Campers who stare at goats... a goat paddock is adjacent the river view pitches, which may delight or nauseate you. Facilities are kept very clean, and the covered pool ideal when it's very sunny. No queues, either.
Little shop just fine, especially as it's only 15 mins to Leclerc! Site Staff helpful, but not magicians- couldn't provide a ehu cable when they were all out already, but brought one straight over when it was available. Bar/restaurant useful and acceptable, but nothing special.
You do need to have transport, and a wasp trap or two.
We would happily return to this site when we want to revisit this end of the Loire.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ChrisinHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
3.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Saumur
Premiere Classe Saumur
#15 of 26 in Saumur
184 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 26 in Saumur
424 reviews
2.6 mi away
Les Terrasses de Saumur
Les Terrasses de Saumur
#1 of 2 in Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
4.1 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#12 of 26 in Saumur
230 reviews
4.3 mi away
Campanile Saumur
Campanile Saumur
#25 of 26 in Saumur
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Huttopia Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Huttopia Saumur

Address: 1 Chantepie, 49400, Saumur, France (Formerly Camping Chantepie)
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Saumur
Price Range: $93 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Huttopia Saumur 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a lush green setting, Huttopia Saumur campsite boasts views and a magical light over the Loire. After a day out exploring with your family, enjoy a few lengths in one of the swimming pools. On site you will find a restaurant service, an activity programme for adults and children alike, and washrooms designed for families to make your holidays even easier. In the heart of a lush natural environment, enjoy a holiday on the water’s edge against a backdrop of UNESCO classified landscapes. Cave dwellings, castles and famous wineries await you. Huttopia Saumur campsite is situated near the wine cellars of Saumur, including the prestigious wineries of Bouvet Ladubay and Ackerman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Camping Huttopia Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing