We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as we expected. David E”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Huttopia Saumur
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Having heard so many good reports on this campsite, whilst we were in France we decided to visit and experience the feeling ourselves. It was Sunday the 17th June 2012 and we travelled from Vannes on a lovely sunny day, it was my birthday, and sdo looked forward to arriving, settling in and having a glass of wine. We arrived about 2.10pm and joined others already there waiting for reception to open. There was a notice on the door with a list of pitches available and the invitation to go and inspect them before the reception re-opened. We picked 2/3 and went and looked at them but found they were too small for our motorhome. However, we did see two with views over the valley which we liked.
The reception opened and we joined the queue and waited our turn. Eventually we spoke to a male receptionist and asked if we could have a pitch overlooking the valley. We were told those pitches were booked. Eventually after a frustrating conversation we were asked how long we wanted to stay, so we said possibly 7 nights. The answer was if we stayed 7 nights then one pitch overlooking the valley would be available. The pitch number was 7.and we were told it would cost us an extra 8 euros per night!!. Reluctantly as were tired we accepted it.
We pulled onto the pitch and set about settling in. However after about 20 minutes we seemed to be invaded by flies, going into the van and into our faces. A quick look over the hedge on the valley side there were goats grazing and this appeared the reason for flies.
A quick walk around the site we found another pitch very flat, large, and sunny, it was K8. So off I went to the office, explained our wish not to stay on the river view pitch due to flies, and enquired if K8 was available, to the same male receptionist. After searching his computer he asked how many nights, and I said possibly seven. The answer was okay you can have the pitch, but it is a large pitch so you pay extra 8 euros.
A bit stunned, hot and tired decided we would stay and went back to the pitch. After placing the van on ramps, and getting equipment out I went to plug into the electric. I was unable to find it on the pitch and a neighbour took me to the nearest electric point, 3 pitches off to the left and requiring a very long cable. Then only other point near was 4 pitches to the right and that needed svereal cables. Beside no electric, there was no water point, nor drainage or light, and this after paying an extra 8 euros per night.
Back to the office and saw a young lady. The other guy had gone home and I think it was pretty near to closing for the young lady. After explaining the problem, she offered to loan me a cable which on examination I could see it would not be compatible with my cables. I was asked for 20 euros, which I declined to pay until I was sure it was needed. The cables did not match and there were no others.
The only help given was the advice to move to one of the pitches with the electric, which were not suitable due to size and trees. This was declined and we left.
This whole scenerio took over 2 hours and we felt the only interest shown was how much money could be made. I know a lot of people have given good reviews, but how many other people have been treated this way and noit said anything.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dave252Oakham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 137 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

I don't often write reviews, although I really should given how much I rely on others going to the trouble... But I want to single out the reception staff who helped as much as they could yesterday and today in trying to book kayaks and our next campsite. Really, they couldn't have tried harder even though there was nothing in it for them...

In terms of the campsite, it was very picturesque and handy for saumur and the Loire. Personally we'd have preferred easy cycling into saumur, and a bigger pool with slides etc... And the signposting/ sat nav took us a little way out of our way... Stay beside the Loire and turn left a mile after the mushroom museum.. Then immediately left again into the campsite... Much quicker!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surebeatsworking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed in July 2011 for a week, it was our first experience of a French campsite - we didn't appreciate how good it was until we visited other sites later in the holiday! There is lots for children to do (ours aged between 5 and 10) pony rides, pool, ping pong, boule. We adults loved the stunning views, wine from the sites own vinyard & visiting market/impromtu wine tasting. A really friendly site - we had trouble with the gas on our caravan and they couldn't do enough to help. The pitches were good, plenty of room and hedging around each to give privacy. We'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: If possible request a pitch with a view - if you are taking a touring caravan as we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The site is situated on a hill overlooking the Loire river about 4 miles from Saumur. It is good for cycling around the lanes but it is a bit of a climb back up to the site if you cycle down to the river!!

The campsite has excellent amenties especially for children (outdoor and covered pool, play area with equipment, horse rides, crazy golf etc). It is clean and well maintained and has a shop for basic supplies (although considerably more expensive than the local supermarkets, as to be expected)

We stayed for 3 weeks in June/July 2011 and, although the campsite was busy it was not full. The bar is a bit expensive as are the meals in the cafe/restaurant.

My only gripe is that the management don't enforce the swimming pool rules regading air beds, runing/jumping even when specific compliants are made to the staff. This can spoil the enjoyment for younger bathers as they are overpoweded by the raucious older children whose parents don't supervise them.

Room Tip: Loire view pitches very limited and have to be booked well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryanuk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Passez votre chemin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janus16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuttopiaEurope, Gérant at Camping Huttopia Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Françoise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuttopiaEurope, Gérant at Camping Huttopia Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saumur
20.3 mi away
Camping Huttopia Rille
3.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Saumur
Premiere Classe Saumur
#14 of 24 in Saumur
179 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
414 reviews
4.3 mi away
Campanile Saumur
Campanile Saumur
#23 of 24 in Saumur
293 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Huttopia Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Huttopia Saumur

Address: 1 Chantepie, 49400, Saumur, France (Formerly Camping Chantepie)
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Saumur
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Huttopia Saumur 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a lush green setting, Huttopia Saumur campsite boasts views and a magical light over the Loire. After a day out exploring with your family, enjoy a few lengths in one of the swimming pools. On site you will find a restaurant service, an activity programme for adults and children alike, and washrooms designed for families to make your holidays even easier. In the heart of a lush natural environment, enjoy a holiday on the water’s edge against a backdrop of UNESCO classified landscapes. Cave dwellings, castles and famous wineries await you. Huttopia Saumur campsite is situated near the wine cellars of Saumur, including the prestigious wineries of Bouvet Ladubay and Ackerman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Camping Huttopia Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing