We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“closed for lunch.”
Review of Chateau de Saumur

Chateau de Saumur
Ranked #5 of 36 things to do in Saumur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A picturesque country villa made famous in the illustrations of Duc de Berry's Book of Hours.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“closed for lunch.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

having trekked to the top of the hill, with minimum signage to help, we found it closing for lunch. when it did reopen, fairly cheap to get in, but then not much to see. better signage at the bottom would seriously help.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pthej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    373
    279
    80
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“chateau”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

pretty on the outside but not much to see once you're in. Cheap to go thankfully, because we are students. Nice to get some good photos, but i think there are nicer castles in the Loire Valley region worth seeing more than Saumur.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fairy tale castle in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We did a guided tour which was well worth it . We joined the French group, but I believe there are tours in English. There was a joust in the grounds which was good fun. Worth going up there for the photo opportunities alone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Closes for lunch!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having travelled through France on several occasions, we are used to closures of shops over the lunchtime period. After all, food is an important part of French culture! However, we arrived at Chateau de Saumur at 1220, only to be turned away as they closed for lunch between 1300-1400. They had to repeat the reason why they wouldn't sell us tickets - we couldn't believe it! There were at least 20 people turned away just before and after us. This is a major tourist sight and monument in the Loire Valley, and if you in Saumur, a visit to this chateau is probably one of the reasons. We didn't return; just walked the perimeter (where we saw more people looking confused over the locked door to the reception area).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank modenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great views and good tour”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Parking was very convenient (TIP you can park at the chateau all day free if you are visiting the town and don't mind walking back up the hill) and following the box office we were immediately offered a free guided tour of the chateau in English. Guide was warm and jokey - which makes a change. The chateau itself is interesting in the light it shows on the history of the region as well as the building itself. Great views of the town and the river on a clear day. Also in the ticket are two museums - particularly good for anyone interested in horses and riding.
The adjacent cafe was rather lacklustre and expensive - but clean and serviceable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Knighton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Saumur also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Chateau de Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing