We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Aromate

L'Aromate
Ranked #7 of 114 Restaurants in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This small resto is beautifully renovated in a modern style. The staff were professional and eager to please. But best of all was the food. Well designed menu offering a wide choice of prix fixe or a la carte and specials. Portion size was large and the kitchen produced some of the best fois gras, salads, mains and desert I had on the entire holiday.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank M0ira54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    90
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

42 Rue Maréchal Leclerc 49000 SAUMUR
Tél. : 02 41 51 31 45 E-mail : laromate@bbox.fr

First Impressions
The restaurant is a small modern chic and stylish place located just a short walk from the center of Saumur. The staff are very welcoming and they spoke good enough English to help my wife and I through the evening. The owner and chef is Laurent Chauvagne who, I was informed , is an outstanding French chef. He was very modest.

The Food & Service
The menu was small, simple but full of tasty surprises. We eat the following;
START - Fois Gras with mushrooms Palma Ham & a cream sauce. Smoked Salmon Salad with a basil dressing and chive crème French.
MAIN – Duck with bean sprouts, thin sliced potatoes & goat’s cheese in filo pastry spring roll with roasted new potatoes and broad beans & broccoli.
Sirloin Steak with seasonal potatoes and broccoli florets and broad beans.
DESERT – Chocolate fondant with strawberries cream & strawberry sorbet. Crème Brule
The service was very good and the waitress was very helpful. The food was very good it was well presented and full of flavour.

Overall
This restaurant was recommended to me whilst I was visiting Saumur and I was not disappointed. It was good traditional and hearty French food full of flavor and the staff were helpful and polite. There was a party here on the night we visited which added to the great atmosphere in the restaurant.

Service- 8/10
The Food- 8/10
Value for Money - 10/10. The meal cost £75.00 for 2 with a ½ bottle of wine

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thehungrybutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
150 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our first visits good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Was closed last year for hols and has obviously realised what they were missing. Well patronised by Brits. Twice visited. David and I chose the 27 euro menu which we thought was much better than the 20 euro one. First we had a bottle of Rigoletto from Domaine de la Paleine. Today we have just visited their cave and purchased 18 bottles to take home. Vins de Saumur.

Anyway we had nice fish dishes at the restaurant and good desserts. Second visit we had a nice bottle of light red wine. I would recommend this restaurant to others, a bit better that L'escargot and L'alchimiste. About 100euros.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
697 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Really great food and worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We tried this place on our second night. The lady at our B&B hadn't yet tried it but we found the food and wine very good and the service excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DTM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

we eat at this popular restaurant, make sure you book! The food was of superb quality throughout, inventive, refined and above all delicious. could not fault it.

expensive wine list, we had the same wine in another restaurant for much less

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank marisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Aromate also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to L'Aromate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing