We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent base in a beautiful area”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to Riverside Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Riverside Cottage.
Kitchen/dining room with access to rear garden and al fresco dining. Kitchen/dining room with access to rear garden and al fresco dining.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Welcome to Riverside Cottage.
Kitchen/dining room with access to rear garden and al fresco dining.
Kitchen/dining room with access to rear garden and al fresco dining.
Well equipped kitchen/dining room with access to rear garden and al fresco dining.
Well equipped kitchen/dining room with access to rear garden and al fresco dining.
All you need to dine in style.
The comfortable lounge with views of the garden. UK and French digital TV with HIFI, WIFI
The comfortable lounge with views of the garden. UK and French digital TV with HIFI, WIFI
The comfortable lounge with views of the garden. UK and French digital TV with HIFI, WIFI
Bedroom 1 with en-suite cloakroom, WC & wash basin.  Bed linen and towels provided
Bedroom 1 with en-suite cloakroom, WC & wash basin.  Bed linen and towels provided
Bedroom 1 with en-suite cloakroom, WC & wash basin.  Bed linen and towels provided
Small hall way between bedroom 1 and bedroom 2.
Bedroom 2.  Bed linen and towels provided
Alternative view of bedroom 2 - Cot available on request
Alternative view of bedroom 2
Bathroom - Bath with shower over, separate WC
All you need to dine in style.
Early summer - Entrance from one of the two gardens..
Relax in the garden at Riverside Cottage.
Welcome to Riverside Cottage.  The sunny flower garden for afternoon shade and al fresco dining.
Welcome to Riverside Cottage.  The sunny flower garden for afternoon shade and al fresco dining.
Relax in the vegetable / fruit garden - Summer.
Relax in the garden.  Kiwi, Raspberries, Apricots, Plums, Cherrries and Rhubarb seasonally available
Exterior plan of cottage
Opposite the house.  View towards the West of the Loire river
Opposite the house.  Sunset over the majestic River Loire
Opposite the house.  Sunset over the majestic River Loire
A world class Zoo at Doué La Fontaine : http://www.zoodoue.fr
The magnificient Château towering above the majestic Loire at Saumur.
The magnificient Château towering above the majestic Loire at Saumur.
14 juillet fireworks in Saumur
Fete de la musique in nearby Saumur
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Saumur, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
JanWestYo...
Tenerife, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It must be me!”
Reviewed August 1, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

I'm afraid I totally disagree with the positive reviews for this property, but fully appreciate I am in a minority of one. I found it unwelcoming, poorly furnished and badly maintained. For example the shower was like something from Carry on Camping, the "wardrobe" in one room is a clothes rail (ikea at best) and the join between two types of tile in the living area is cemented. I have rented property all over France, Spain and Italy and love rustic, but didn't like Riverside at all.The worst feature was the horrible fusty smell which I am assured by the owner was the flooring in the bedrooms which reacts badly to changes in weather/temperature. I was not encouraged to contact the owner to express my disappointment (the very limited information from the owner said quite clearly he was only to be contacted in an emergency and as a lone traveller I found that intimidating) so I left after one night.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2011
The cottage has been let continuously since mid April 2011 by a total of 11 different guests / families from Australia, UK, The Netherlands, Eire and New Zealand. None of these guests have mentioned any of the points that you have raised, In fact all 11 guests have been extremely complimentary, some even wanting to book for longer in 2012.

It is regretful that you felt the need to leave after only one night, preferring to stay with a friend nearby, especially after driving during the torrential rain of that day arriving around 21H00.

Once you did make contact via the booking agent I immediately called you to discuss your concerns. As I said to you, I sincerely want guests to have an enjoyable stay at the cottage and that great care is taken to ensure that the photographs of the cottage are an exact as possible representation of the accommodation and furnishings and that it is good value for money.

As you mentioned, the contact details in the house and on the acknowledgement of your holiday do state,” In an emergency the owner can be contact of the following number…”

However, as I mentioned to you, I would certainly consider it to be an emergency if you were so disappointed with the property that you felt it necessary to leave after one night.

The problem with the shower head could have been resolved by a simple phone call and the recently installed sea grass flooring does occasionally smell a little, which I believe to be quite normal and no previous guests have mentioned this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paullikes...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent base in a beautiful area”
Reviewed June 27, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

A very quaint lovely cottage direct on the north bank of the Loire - this is in a perfect location for exploring the area. The cottage itself is perfect in every way and we had the best nights sleep in a long while. Do make sure you visit the villages immediately across the Loire as they are truly beautiful as are the many many Chateaux in the area and for a truly decadent occasion try the Chateau Rochecotte in St. Patrice which is stunning beyond belief. Our final evening was spent in the local bar/restuarant and as the sun began to set two beautiful hot air balloons drifted down the River and over the Church - a lovely sight and end to our holiday. A friendly white cat used to pop in to the garden each evening and even came to bid us goodbye as we left, a lovely touch or just the old romantic in me? If you are considering this location, consider no longer, just book it..!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2011
I am really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the cottage. I have added a full length mirror to the house as your requested.

"So pleased that you took my comment on board regarding the mirror - its a girly sort of thing I know, but was I felt, the only thing missing in what is a lovely place"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 17, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Usurbil, Spain
Reviewed February 24, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing