We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Le Pot de Lapin

Le Pot de Lapin
Ranked #3 of 117 Restaurants in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: French traditional cooking. Large range of local wine available with meals and to buy. Restaurant in a quiet street on eastern side of the town. Lovely atmosphere. Medium price.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Great setting service was friendly and good. food was average. Tapas wasn't great except for the prawn skewer. Steak was tough and overcooked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    161
    22
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
139 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great dinner”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

WE were lucky to have been recommended this restaurant by the owner of the chateau we stayed in. We had a great meal! we ate outside the restaurant which is by itself ihn a little side street at the entrance of Saumur. Everything was delicious. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 120CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great food and wine but no rabbit!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

First of all the name reflects the name of the owner so the only Lapin you will find is Monsieur

We dropped in for lunch whilst returning from a hike, as Le Pot de Lapin is on the edge of town upstream of the centre ville.

You have to look for it as it is in an ordinary residential street away from the pretty squares which is what appealed to us.

The place was packed with office workers having Friday lunch before the weekend festival so our walking clobber was perhaps a little out of place but we were welcomed into the rustic dining room of about 8 tables and there were six more tables out the front.

Decorations are all to do with wine and the menu is only on a large blackboard with about 8 choices for each of the starters, mains, deserts and wines by the glass, In addition there were about 8 tapas to choose. There were no formules.

A very extensive wine list was the only carte offered.

We ordered veal and lamb and we were very happy to wait about 20 minutes as we knew our meal was being prepared from scratch and the end result was delicious.

We washed it down with a drop of rouge from the vineyard we had hiked past just a hour before and it tasted as good as the vines looked.

The meal was memorable for the finesse that the chef had used to make up our dishes. And the bread came in two types including a very dark nutty one.

So for two beers two wines two plates two coffees and a digestif the damage was €43

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OzGronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wine and service”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have been here a few times and the food is excellent. It is a spanish style place with a tapas as well as full a la carte menu. The owner/manager speaks excellent english as well which helps. They aslo have a wonderful wine selection and the prices are extremely good for what you get. I would happily take anyone there and know they would enjoy it

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little restaurant”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Plain and simple, lovely people run the place and near our hotel, Le Patio, on the river Loire.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank cathayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pot de Lapin also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Le Pot de Lapin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing