We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Restaurant le Gambetta
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Restaurant le Gambetta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 124 Restaurants in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $115
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The dinner we had at Le Gambetta was the best we had on a recent trip to the Loire. The food was superb! We only had the set menu, but even that was done with care and refinement. The service was excellent and put up with my bad French! We had a truly enjoyable evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    58
    17
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Saumur”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The place is a bit small, but the creations of the chef are simply great. Inventive without being molecular kitchen, very good basic products finished with great skill. From the creative "amuse" followed by an excellent "Foie gras" perfect breast of pigeon, nice selection of cheese and a dessert which reminds on those "good old times" we had a great dinner. Very good selection of wines and very friendly service. No complaints at all. Would come back anytime passing Saumur again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephanBrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“La Gambetta shines”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Brilliant
best 1 star Michelin we've had the pleasure of..eating at
very close walk from Chateau de Verrieres

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank robert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Emphasis on the desserts”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We ate here on a Thursday night in September. There were only two other couples in the dining room which did not do a lot for the atmosphere. Service was very attentive -- the usual explanations of every component on the plate . Food was technically very good although, to our taste ,overworked .( See the photos taken by other reviewers.) We had the 54 euro menus which were very good value with or without a Michelin star. There is a big emphasis on the desserts which were very sweet by French standards. The petit fours served with coffee were almost another dessert course. Overall, we would not be racing back here next time we are in Saumur .

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the Best. Absolutely first rate.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The food, the atmosphere and the service were absolutely top rate. The waiters delivered one delightful surprise after the other. The food was innovative without being too pretentious.

The wine list was excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PigeonCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant le Gambetta also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Restaurant le Gambetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing