We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the best while touring the Loire valley.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Bouvet Ladubay
Ranked #6 of 23 Saumur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
scottsdale, arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Experience the best while touring the Loire valley.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not the biggest, not the flashiest, not the oldest. But the most kind and gracious reception and care by the owner, Mr. Bruno Remiat, makes this chateau the best value for money in the entire Valley. He made dinner reservations at what turned out to be a great find -- we ate there four times. He made so many suggestions which made our visit memorable, including mushroom farms, Samur horse stables and school , the most well known in France, and artisanal soap and perfumers, Martin de Candre. Great base for chateau visits. He is very knowledgeable about antiques (every room is completely furnished with them) and he is an expert in antique toys. The bed linens are immaculate. Wish we had a month or year there. Coming back with friends.

Room Tip: Quiet garden setting. 1 room on main floor, the 3 others are on second floor but mr. Remiat insists...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
69
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great size room (Saphir) and wonderful bathroom, gracious host and tasty breakfasts. A little far from town (a good 20/25 minute walk) and the pool didn't seem to be open at all when we were there. Nowhere really to lounge around either. For the money, though, a very good stay and highly recommended for anyone travelling in the Loire valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acdublin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalow, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was my daughter's request when we were heading to the Loire Valley and it was met in every way. Bruno was a gracious host and the rooms were perfect for us. The little things are what made the stay perfect - champagne in the garden, a booking made for us at a gorgeous local restaurant, breakfast in the conservatory and best of all waking up with a view of the castle on the hill. Thank you Bruno for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangalow2479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Chateau Bouvet Ladubay was a very happy choice for us. Located conveniently close to the upcoming town of Saumur, yet set in quiet and peaceful grounds, we found this to be a delightful base for exploring the Loire Valley. The chateau is loaded with antiques and charm. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and the bathrooms updated. The breakfast of fresh baked goods and fruit was generous and the coffee excellent. Our host Bruno was amiable, helpful, knowledgeable and made it easy to feel at home here. His recommondations for dining were spot on. There is a very good little market and a post within a 10 minute walk. We completely enjoyed our five night stay. The website is a good representation of the chateau.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmania121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We spent four days in September 2011 using Chateau Bouvet Ladubay as our base for visiting sites in the Loire Valley. The accommodations were outstanding, and the owner, Bruno, went out of his way helping us with dinner reservations, directions and information on sites to visit. We recommend Bruno's chateau without qualification.
Five retired Louisiana State University tigers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwpche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is indeed a super chateau to stay at. The host is very helpsom and friendly. You really fell welcome and at home here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cykelrytteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here last October (2010) while we toured the Loire Valley. Loved this beautiful, small chateau, perfectly restored by owner & host, Bruno Remiat. Rooms are all different & very beautiful. I stayed in the Saphir suite - just gorgeous & my sister in the beautiful & huge Agathe suite. Site pictures do not do this chateau justice - much better in person. Host Bruno is kind, helpful & can't do enough for you. It was my sister's birthday & when we returned that night, he had a bottle of champagne chilling to celebrate! Very reasonable prices, good breakfast: would definitely return & highly recommend.

Room Tip: Saphir is on 2nd floor, a corner room overlooking front drive & parkland; very beautiful. Silk w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau De Verrieres
Chateau De Verrieres
#6 of 24 in Saumur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
3.1 mi away
Domaine de Presle
Domaine de Presle
#15 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Bouvet Ladubay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Bouvet Ladubay

Property: Chateau Bouvet Ladubay
Address: 6 avenue Georges Thoreau | Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent, 49400, Saumur, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by a well-known familly of wine producers in Saumur, the Chateau Bouvet-Ladubay with its magnificent conservatory and its three guest-rooms wil give you a taste of the magic of the Loire Valley. The Ecole Nationale d’Equitation, the Cadre Noir de Saumur, the vineyards and cellars are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Bouvet Ladubay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing