We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, charming proprietor, vegan options, cool cat!”
Review of Saumur 1929

Saumur 1929
Ranked #4 of 136 Restaurants in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

Small but delightful restaurant, terrific food and charming service. We can recommend local speciality La Gouline (savoury pie for meat eaters) and vegan dishes including vegetable cassoulette, lentil houmous and delectable shitaake mushrooms from the local caverns - plus the melting chocolate dessert. The proprietor clearly works his heart out making sure everyone feels welcome and leaves with a big smile. His friendly cat made it a perfect evening. We will be back!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 350 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

We tried this place given the very high ratings on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The staff were so busy but still tried to make everyone welcome. When all the outdoor tables were taken, they started bringing all the inside tables and chairs outside. They only had the menus in French, so the chef himself pulled up a chair and translated the menu for us. The food and wine were all amazing and it was great value too. We had a bottle of wine and 4 dishes to share, all for 50 Euros. We had the zucchini, mushrooms, pig trotters, and the goat cheese salad.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 1Foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

We had the very best lunch during our holiday on Samur 1929. An inspired kitchen, which have the quality of combining traditional french cooking with parisian modernity. Thanks!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank evam844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

Quite simply brilliant.
The Chef comes to table to discuss the menu with you before you eat.
Our daughters have coeliac disease and have a severe reaction to gluten. The chef told us which dishes were gluten free, and there was an ample selection. The kitchen is small and we were anxious re cross contamination, but the meal was superb and our daughters were fine.
A brilliant meal attentive staff and very reasonably priced⭐️

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank hilary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

We spent 4 nights in Saumur and 2 of those dining at 1929 Saumur. A wonderful little find! The food is French inspired tapas with other interesting, stylish influences (eg. Spanish and Asian) made from local produce - and all thoughroughly enjoyable. Everthing was great and the local cave grown shitake mushrooms just lightly seasoned with sage and white wine were understated yet perfect (letting the main ingredient shine). The same can be said for the Pied De Cochon (Pig's feet) with lentils accompanied by a lovely local red wine (the wine list is again simple and understated in a very good way, lacking pretention yet absolutley sufficient) - C'est Bon, Merci to Alex and the staff! Super value, super tasty and a totally enjoyable dining experience. Highly reccomended!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saumur 1929 also viewed

Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Saumur 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing