We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Le Volney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Volney
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Spent a few days here in July. Clean rooms, helpful staff. Breakfast was ok. There is indeed free parking close by, we parked outside the post office(free parking at weekends) and returned the following morning to find our car had been vandalised. We put this down to youthful high spirits due to the Bastille day celebrations but it still spoilt an otherwise nice stay.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank for your positive opinion about our hotel.

We are so sorry for your vandalized car, this type of act happend rarely in our town.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    63
    22
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
52
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel Volney is situated at the end of town furthest from the Gare and centre ville, next to a school and on a busy road so its not in a quiet or really handy position.

The front door is particularly heavy and difficult to push open with your luggage in hand and the room doors are not much easier to pull open.

The rooms are of average 2 star size and the bathroom slightly bigger than usual with quite good liquid soap.

The staff are friendly enough but room cleaning lacks something as our towels were left wet where we had left them and not even straightend including the bath mat still on the floor; we certainly should have put them in the bath to get them changed.

Breakfast though adequate with cereal yogurt and the usual breads and coffee was quite disorganised taking ages before milk butter coffee etc were served.

The stairway which is usual for this type of hotel is particularly steep and narrow and even we who only travel with hand luggage had a bit of difficulty with the stairs.

We only stay at 2 star hotels and can rate Volney as clean but average.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzGronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for your opinion.
We apologize for the breakfast service, it may happen to be disorganized when the hotel is full.
In order to respect the ecological development, if you don't use all the towels, you can it leave wet them apart in the bathroom.
We hope to receive when you will come back in France.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were very pleased with the hotel, we stayed for 3 nights along with 3 other friends and had breakfast for €7 on two of the mornings which was lovely. The man at reception was very nice and helpful.
The rooms were quite basic but very clean which is always the most important thing. We were so pleased with the location too.
For the price it was just perfect. If you want luxury, you'll have to pay more but we prefer to spend the savings on good food and wine!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladylimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thanks for your positive opinion, we hope to receive when you will come back in France.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

the hotel is basic but clean, and is close to the city center, which should be the main reason to stay here. Size of the room was ok. No lift though, heavy luggage needs to be hauled up the staircase.
There's a free public parking close by (which is pretty full during the day but plenty of space available in the late afternoon/evening - off season-, which is when most people will be coming back from visiting the surrounding area and need to park).
The owner was nice and helpful. He did not have our reservation though... it was good I had a copy of the email where he confirmed the room and as they weren't booked out it was all no problem. Remains to be seen what would have happened in high season...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TsavoDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your opinion.
The hotel was built nineteen century and it is impossible to install a lift.
In every season we found a room for all our guests.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The rooms are old & daggy and could do with new bedding and carpet but it's a bit like staying at grandma's!
The location is great, our room was enormous with a great bathroom, shower & bath and excellent wifi. The staff were also great so all in all, excellent value for money

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thanks for your positive opininon, during winter, each year we are renovating our rooms and will pay attention for decoration.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Small hotel close to centre of Saumur. Cleanly presented with a friendly owner. Rooms are not big but have tv and wifi included. Because it was August the room was a little warm however a large fan was provided. This hotel is recommended for those on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thanks for your positive opinion, we hope to see you when you will come back in France.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Rooms are clen and quiet, bathroom is small but ok. We paid EUR 48 and the overall service provided was good value for money.
The owner is extremely kind and helpful.
The main problem of our room was the noise from the bathroom(s) of other room(s). At 8am we were woken up by the noise of a flush and we seriously thought that something had happened in our bathroom and that the room was going to be flooded. Instead, we discovered that it was just the noise of a flush of other rooms, as we heard the sound many other times during the morning.
Location is quite central, walking distance from the main square and castle.
Free wifi, free small garage for bicylces. We didn't try the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlGenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your opinion.
The hotel was built in 19th century and the acoustic insulation is a problem for us. When we renovate rooms, each winter, the insulation is our first preoccupation.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Saumur Centre
Kyriad Saumur Centre
#10 of 24 in Saumur
227 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cristal Hotel
Cristal Hotel
#9 of 24 in Saumur
257 reviews
1.7 mi away
Campanile Saumur
Campanile Saumur
#23 of 24 in Saumur
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Volney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Volney

Property: Le Volney
Address: 1 rue Volney, 49400, Saumur, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saumur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Volney 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel le Volney is located in the heart of the Loire Valley, in Saumur downtown famous for its "Cadre Noir" (national horse riding school, its castle, its wines, its caves...This charming Hotel offers you a very special and warm welcome. Its rooms are personalized and some of them have air conditioning.Located in a very quiet area, close to downtown, its narrow pedestrian streets, its restaurants, its commercial area, Hotel Le Volney is really the place to stay if you want to visit Saumur and its area, Loire and castles.In a relaxed atmosphere, the owners will inform you about Saumur, Loire Valley and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Volney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Volney Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing