We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Londres(Saumur)
$83
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$96
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Les Terrasses de Saumur(Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kyriad Saumur Centre(Saumur)(Great Value!)
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$149
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$92
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
31
72
24
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
72
24
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 131 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The rooms are old & daggy and could do with new bedding and carpet but it's a bit like staying at grandma's!
The location is great, our room was enormous with a great bathroom, shower & bath and excellent wifi. The staff were also great so all in all, excellent value for money

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thanks for your positive opininon, during winter, each year we are renovating our rooms and will pay attention for decoration.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Small hotel close to centre of Saumur. Cleanly presented with a friendly owner. Rooms are not big but have tv and wifi included. Because it was August the room was a little warm however a large fan was provided. This hotel is recommended for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thanks for your positive opinion, we hope to see you when you will come back in France.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Rooms are clen and quiet, bathroom is small but ok. We paid EUR 48 and the overall service provided was good value for money.
The owner is extremely kind and helpful.
The main problem of our room was the noise from the bathroom(s) of other room(s). At 8am we were woken up by the noise of a flush and we seriously thought that something had happened in our bathroom and that the room was going to be flooded. Instead, we discovered that it was just the noise of a flush of other rooms, as we heard the sound many other times during the morning.
Location is quite central, walking distance from the main square and castle.
Free wifi, free small garage for bicylces. We didn't try the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlGenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for your opinion.
The hotel was built in 19th century and the acoustic insulation is a problem for us. When we renovate rooms, each winter, the insulation is our first preoccupation.
Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Excelent value for money. Helpful staff. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iliyan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your positive comment.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Le Volney is a small family hotel close to the town centre. It has a very homely feel in the communal area and is excellent value for money.

Our room was small and dated but the shower room had obviously been refitted recently and was excellent.

The owner gave us some free vouchers for a tour of a winery cellar nearby with tastings. That was appreciated. He was very friendly and this added to the homely charm.

Overall this hotel is 5 star value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilledbutnotfrozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupuy_Francois, Propriétaire at Le Volney, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks for your positive opinion.
We hope to receive when you will come back in France.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews