We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere and service, food a bit diaspointing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of le Cafe cult

le Cafe cult
Ranked #352 of 1,310 Restaurants in Nantes
Cuisines: French, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Decré - Cathédrale
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service, food a bit diaspointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

The place is really great, with a nice atomsphere and very friendly staff.
I was a bit disappointed by the food for the price though (21€ menu), the "Magret de canard" was a bit overcooked and not as savoury as one could expect, and the icecream of my "pain perdu" had a strange taste.
Nonetheless it is still a great place for a cosy dinner with friends, if you can spare a 30-40€ bill.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank freedom4seagulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    95
    25
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great taste great place Strongly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

İ"ve been there for several times and i think cafe cult is the best restaurant in Nantes.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dreamerthe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

We are In Nantes for some work and were looking for a good place to go. For non French speakers (and yes we do try) it is not an easy town to get around in. We were recommend to this place and everyone there was so nice. They didn't give us nasty stares when our French wasn't perfect and they were very welcoming. Turned out one of the bar staff studied in the States for awhile. Food was excellent. We had the risotto to start which was fantastic and then I had a steak with amazing chips and a salad. Note to travelers French steaks cooked medium does not equal English steaks cooked medium. If you don't like it rare order it well done. My Fiance had the shrimp and they were delicious! All in all a great little place for a pre dinner drink or dinner!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service, a must in Nantes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Went here on a Monday evening and the place was very busy full of locals. We arrived slightly too early for food so had a cocktail whilst waiting, the Black Russians are fab. When the kitchen opened the waiter brought us the menu without us having to ask, the food was amazing, I started with a beautiful risotto and my partner had a gorgeous cold courgette and prawn soup. For mains the lamb and duck were perfect by this time we were stuffed all this with wine and water for a very reasonable 58 euros. All this set in a great old building in the middle of Nantes, make this a definite stop for dinner if in this great city.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tezzatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a great lively place in the city hart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Been there a couple of time, just for a drink on the livey terrace.
Great atmosphere
Friendly and efficient service.
Nice dishes served on neighbouring tables.
Next time in nantes, we'll definitely go back for a drink on the terrace but also !for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JVanderGomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le Cafe cult also viewed

Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
 
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
 
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
 

Been to le Cafe cult? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing