We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but excellent service for France.”
Review of La Cigale

La Cigale
Ranked #95 of 1,353 Restaurants in Nantes
Price range: $21 - $58
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Graslin - Commerce
Columbus, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, but excellent service for France.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Despite hearing that it was overrated and expensive we went to La Cigale for Christmas dinner. It turned out to be our favorite meal out of almost 3 weeks in France. We enjoyed lots of interesting and beautifully presented food and beverages. My 17 year old daughter is a picky eater and had a hard time finding a selection. She finally ordered a plat of vegetables and still can't stop talking about how good they were and how filling. She ate vegetables that she normally won't eat because they were so good. We were especially wowed by how unbelievable the wait staff was. They took their time explaining the menu to us in English and refilled our water carafe immediately when it was empty - do you now how unusual that is in France! Of course, the decor is interesting too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mineral48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    1,031
    495
    253
    114
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stunning decor with average food”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Only deserves 3 stars as food was somewhat average...however, the decoration from early 1900 is just stunning and is therefore a must go to place to have a lunch. Service was kind given France usual standard.

Helpful?
1 Thank FroggyCritics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Dessert I've ever had”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This restaurant is just Amazing, it was built in 1895, so you are basically having lunch in a Landmark...
Their service is great the food is excellent the place is beautiful, but the best part is the Dessert, it is really the best dessert I've ever had in my life, their Raspberry Macaroon is Delicious!! their profiteroles as well...
It is better to make a reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb setting”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you can't afford a meal there, go just to see the place. It is georgous. I had the breakfast, which was not too expensive and quite filling.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fallforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar, null, Gibraltar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great decor, reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Firstly, you go to La Cigale for its decor. It's stunning.

But then, you realize that the food is not over-priced and actually really good.

The menu is varied, the food creative and the waiters really good (the waiters relayed our food allergies to the chef who in turn created personalized sauces and side orders).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cigale also viewed

Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
 
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
 
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
 

Been to La Cigale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing