We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of La Cigale

La Cigale
Ranked #95 of 1,353 Restaurants in Nantes
Price range: $21 - $58
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Graslin - Commerce
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Monday lunch sublime, great service. Amazing decor would recommend to anyone. Will return later in the year hopefully.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    1,035
    495
    255
    115
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Let Down!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Last week I paid the latest of many visits to La Cigale. I associate this restaurant with many previous enjoyable meals, good company and a special ambiance. I have never worried about the studied indifference of las garçons towards their customers. It sort of adds to the feel of the place.

The let down last night was the food, specifically the main course. I ordered their "diner en ville" menu. The fresh tuna starter and the dessert were fine. The "dos de cabillaud" certainly did not have the texture of fresh cod. It was served with some ok vegetables (braised endives) on a very hot plate, although the piece of fish was lukewarm and partly raw. When I sent it back, all that arrived back was the same piece having been crisped under a grill. This food was not to a standard that would be acceptable in any restaurant, let alone one that has a special reputation for seafood. What a pity!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiger54B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Seafood in baroque atmosphere”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Unique place located in the heart of Nantes, by the Opera Graslin theatre.
Incredible "rococo" overloaded decoration.
Very, very good food, especially seaborne, but also meats and side orders.
Nice service, in spite of overcrowding most of the time.
Car Park nearby

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not clean”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The place is very popular and good decorated, but waiters don't pay much attention if tables aren't clean . Moreover I see under tables food, napkins and no one cares about it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Polina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitou Charentes, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked to have lunch at La Cigale because of its reputation and it is true, the decor is beautiful. However, we were placed in a tiny room next door to beautiful dining room. The main reason for being there is for the art deco treat that is promised and thus, we were very disappointed. To add insult to injury, the food was mediocre at best. The restaurant is obviously a tourist magnet and can rest on its laurels. The staff were pleasant, the wine good. When we pointed out, at the end of the meal and when the restaurant was quieter, how disappointed we were, they relocated us to a table in the real dining room and offered us a complimentary coffee. The decor, whilst beautiful, is in need of some maintenance, as it is showing signs of wear and tear. Would we return? No, but I would recommend perhaps going for tea and only if you are assured a table in the main dining room.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherlavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cigale also viewed

Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
 
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
 

Been to La Cigale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing