We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”
Review of Hotel Pommeraye

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pommeraye
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Nantes
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were not expecting too much as it wasn't an expensive hotel but were pleasantly surprised. The location was very good and, despite the road closures, we found it easily enough by their directions. The style is "quirky", rooms modern, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good too with plently of choice. We had good double glazing so could shut out the noise if we wanted but rather enjoyed hearing the hustle and bustle of the street below. The only downside was that we had a mad busker singing right outside which would have driven us up the wall - but we just went out and ate at one of the many good retaurants nearby and he was gone by the time we returned. All in all would go there again - as we may well do as we were impressed with Nantes all round!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    260
    33
    4
    1
See reviews for
69
289
40
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Lovely hotel, friendly staff with English good value and great breakfast

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is a great hotel for touring the old part of the city and the important sights on foot and for immediate access to great shopping.. There is also a great selection of fine and inexpensive restaurants nearby including Cigale's The rooms are spacious. Beds are very comfortable. Staff are helpful and friendly. Wifi is free and if you drive, there is public parking 150 metres away. There is no safe in the room but reception will hold any valuables if you wish though the hotel appears very secure and safe. For English speakers there is no English TV.. All 56 channels on the 32" flatscreen are in French.. Highly recommended for great value and a central hub.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CMC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed 3 days. The hotel is in a pedestrian/shopping area with limited vehicle traffic, the hotel
itself, the location, the room, and the breakfast were all excellent but spoiled by the noise outside in street late at night and early in the morning. If it's warm it would be nice to have the windows open to the street, but then sleeping is difficult. In the daytime we had the windows open to the street and enjoyed some breaks reading and looking out.
Overall it should be fine if you intend to stay at the hotel during the colder seasons or
have a room facing the away from the street, otherwise I suggest you vote with your wallet and find a hotel somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are noisy at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OregonArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed for one night in June as we were in Nantes to see a concert. The hotel is located right in the city centre, and our corner room had an impressive view of several streets. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was very comfortable, and the breakfast was good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I hadn’t read much about Hotel Pommeraye before my husband and I stayed there for one night recently and we were pleasantly surprised. It’s a two-star hotel so the rooms are basic (the one we stayed in on the fourth floor had no air conditioning or tea/coffee making facilities) but reasonably sized and clean, and there is a lift. The bed was a bit squishy for our liking, the sink in the bathroom was small, and there was a loud creaky floorboard in our room, but otherwise the room was fine. Free WiFi is available at the hotel but our connection on the fourth floor was a bit patchy.

The hotel is centrally located with bars, restaurants and shops right outside the door. Look out for the amazing chocolate shop down the road, and beware of the inflated prices at some of the bars in Place Royal. Breakfast at the hotel was excellent (standard continental fare plus a basket of breads and pastries each!) and all the staff we met were friendly and helpful.

Our directions from Google Maps said we could drive right onto Rue Boileau from Rue du Calvaire but beware – you can’t! The road is blocked at that end by bollards although you can get to it from the south (I think) and park temporarily outside the hotel for loading. We parked our hire car at the Graslin car park, which is at most a five minute walk away. Overnight parking here is free when staying at the hotel, you just pay for any extra hours your car is there for (before 10pm and after 7am I think, or vice versa).

All in all this is a lovely hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunHat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during our visit to Nantes. The hotel is located in the very centre of the city within walking distance off all the sights.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, our reservation was there, nobody even wanted our pasports or whatever, we just got the key and that was it. Great.
The room as well as the bathroom was very small but very pleasant, we liked it very much. During the first night (Sat - Sun) we were woken up by some noisy people probably coming from some nearby bar. This took quite a while but fortunately it did not happen again. The window of our room was aiming into the street and as there are only buildings around and cobble stones in the street, every noise seemed quite loud (the window was fully open). But as I said, there was only one problem during the first night.
The best things about this hotel are the breakfasts. There was not extremely vast choice of food but everything we wanted (pancakes, jams, youghurts, fresh fruits, cereals, eggs, cheeses, ham, pastry, juices). Everything was tasty, fresh and with almost no carbon footprint (seems to be an issue in France these days). Going to the breakfast room is definitely worth it, rather than having the breakfast in your room (you can't taste everything in any amount :-)).
There is also WiFi internet for free everywhere in the hotel!
We also had a hired car, so we needed somewhere to park it overnight. The hotel offers free parking in a nearby parkhouse (Graslin parkhouse) (about 5 mins. walk) from 7PM to 10AM (you just need to have the parking ticket stamped at the reception).


On checkout and payment, everything was ok according to the booking. It even wasn't a problem to pay part in cash and part by card.

All-in-all, the hotel was just great and I would recommend it to everyone looking for hotel on this price level.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are rooms with non-street view. But if so, they will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johny_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantes hotels
Graslin - Commerce
Oceania Hotel de France
Oceania Hotel de France
#1 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Hotel Voltaire Opera
#3 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Decré - Cathédrale
Okko Nantes Chateau
Okko Nantes Chateau
#2 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Graslin - Commerce
Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel
Hotel Sozo
#4 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pommeraye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pommeraye

Property: Hotel Pommeraye
Address: 2 rue Boileau, 44000, Nantes, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Nantes > Graslin - Commerce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nantes
#4 Family Hotel in Nantes
#5 Best Value Hotel in Nantes
#13 Business Hotel in Nantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pommeraye 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Nantes, an economic and cultural center, located at the entrance of the Passage Pommeraye, it’s the right hotel for active days and peaceful nights. It offers you serenity in the heart of a bustling city. After a busy day, you will find the peace and quiet you desire in your room, newly decorated in a tasteful combination of sleek, modern lines and colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Pommeraye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pommeraye Hotel Nantes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing