We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveler rating
591
210
55
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
210
55
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old church stained glass converted church jardin des plantes botanical gardens lovely park train station are plenty of places to eat unique hotel comfortable bedroom nespresso machine contemporary decor reception staff were excellent tea bags air con reception area floor to ceiling
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 867 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

While this establishment is superficially impressive, especially as an architecture and design showpiece, it leaves a lot to be desired as a hotel.
There are many, many quality issues needing urgent attention, the most serious of which are: some rooms are simply too small and poorly laid out; ventilation is poor to the point of discomfort; showers don't work; etc.
We left in disgust after a terrible night, but I must give credit for their response to our complaints, which was exemplary. Our feedback was welcomed, assurances of improvement given, and all monies refunded. The staff were excellent in every regard.
Naturally, as things stand, value must be rated as extremely poor, but if they focus effectively on the hotel aspects of their offering, they may be onto something ...
Until then, the recommendation must be to not visit

Room tip: Make sure you get a room that has: - adequate ventilation (some have tiny, single windows); - a dedicated shower cubicle, as the showers over baths just don't work
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I loved my stay here! Slightly small rooms but really lovely staff and very clean with great location (city centre and walkable distance for castle and other tourist sites etc). The repurposed church design is obvious from the outside but the interiors are very modern and different in style. Would definitely consider returning!

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m3ghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Sayed for 1 night in August. We picked the hotel because it had been positively reviewed in The Times. On the plus side, the staff were absolutely fantastic, really friendly and knowledgeable. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was ok, although for the price of the rooms, it probably should have been included. On the downside, there was no airconditioning in our rooms which was slightly disappointing. We were offered mobile aircon units, but were told they were extremely noisy so we declined. The worst part though was the bathrooms which were in need of an update. The showers were very difficult to use as the heads were not supported properly in their cradles and kept falling out unless you got the water pressure just right. The bathroom in our room was also extremely small and difficult to move around in. So, although it was a relatively nice experience, it was overpriced for what it was.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Sozo. We were there for six nights. The staff were just so friendly and courteous and knowledgeable. I had communicated with them prior to our arrival for restaurant recommendations and they didn't disappoint. There is wonderful art all over the main floor and the lobby is very cozy to just sit and read or interact with other guests. The WiFi is fast and reliable.

Yes, the rooms are relatively small (but just how much time do you plan on spending in your room?). The beds were real comfortable, the bathroom is small and the shower works just fine. And if you run out of Nespresso you only need to call the front desk for more.

Breakfast is served in a small but bright room off the lobby. Fresh-squeezed juices, fruits, pastries/bread, etc. are available.

The hotel is literally minutes from the main train station (and a beautiful walk through the Jardin des plantes de Nantes) and within walking distance of most attractions. A tram line (#1) is in front of the station and will connect to other lines all around the city.

Highly recommended.

Room tip: we had a "Tentation" room on the 3rd floor. Very quiet.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank new282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the end of August. Had chosen this hotel for its originality (being in a converted church) everything about this hotel is small and neat! We had a standard room, just big enough for a large double bed, bedside tables, a chair and small desk on which was situated a Nespresso machine (nice touch! but only 2 capsules, 1 milk and paper cups! yuck!!!) There was a ridiculously small glass sided cupboard big enough to hang 3 shirts, a safe and a shelf.

The bathing area, a shower, tiny basin and counter, was semi screened by a floor to ceiling radiator. There was a very small separate toilet directly off the bedroom.The bed was very comfortable and had decent full sized pillows. I slept very well.

There is a beautiful park opposite but nothing else close by. The tramway runs at the bottom of the street and provides a very reasonable way to get around. But it really wasn't a nice area to walk in at night, I would not have felt comfortable out alone.

The breakfast was expensive for what you got and considering the price of the rooms, they really should include it in the price. Bar prices on the high side too. I must say, that all the staff we encountered were all very attentive and knowledgeable.

Room tip: Perhaps ask what they have available before you chose a price.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzimaloozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews