We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveler rating
561
203
53
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
203
53
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold churchstained glassconverted churchbotanical gardensjardin des planteslovely parknespresso machinetrain stationinteresting hotelcontemporary decorair conreception areathis lovely hoteltea bagsheat wavesmall roombeautiful building
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 826 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Sayed for 1 night in August. We picked the hotel because it had been positively reviewed in The Times. On the plus side, the staff were absolutely fantastic, really friendly and knowledgeable. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was ok, although for the price of the rooms, it probably should have been included. On the downside, there was no airconditioning in our rooms which was slightly disappointing. We were offered mobile aircon units, but were told they were extremely noisy so we declined. The worst part though was the bathrooms which were in need of an update. The showers were very difficult to use as the heads were not supported properly in their cradles and kept falling out unless you got the water pressure just right. The bathroom in our room was also extremely small and difficult to move around in. So, although it was a relatively nice experience, it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Sozo. We were there for six nights. The staff were just so friendly and courteous and knowledgeable. I had communicated with them prior to our arrival for restaurant recommendations and they didn't disappoint. There is wonderful art all over the main floor and the lobby is very cozy to just sit and read or interact with other guests. The WiFi is fast and reliable.

Yes, the rooms are relatively small (but just how much time do you plan on spending in your room?). The beds were real comfortable, the bathroom is small and the shower works just fine. And if you run out of Nespresso you only need to call the front desk for more.

Breakfast is served in a small but bright room off the lobby. Fresh-squeezed juices, fruits, pastries/bread, etc. are available.

The hotel is literally minutes from the main train station (and a beautiful walk through the Jardin des plantes de Nantes) and within walking distance of most attractions. A tram line (#1) is in front of the station and will connect to other lines all around the city.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: we had a "Tentation" room on the 3rd floor. Very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank new282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the end of August. Had chosen this hotel for its originality (being in a converted church) everything about this hotel is small and neat! We had a standard room, just big enough for a large double bed, bedside tables, a chair and small desk on which was situated a Nespresso machine (nice touch! but only 2 capsules, 1 milk and paper cups! yuck!!!) There was a ridiculously small glass sided cupboard big enough to hang 3 shirts, a safe and a shelf.

The bathing area, a shower, tiny basin and counter, was semi screened by a floor to ceiling radiator. There was a very small separate toilet directly off the bedroom.The bed was very comfortable and had decent full sized pillows. I slept very well.

There is a beautiful park opposite but nothing else close by. The tramway runs at the bottom of the street and provides a very reasonable way to get around. But it really wasn't a nice area to walk in at night, I would not have felt comfortable out alone.

The breakfast was expensive for what you got and considering the price of the rooms, they really should include it in the price. Bar prices on the high side too. I must say, that all the staff we encountered were all very attentive and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask what they have available before you chose a price.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzimaloozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Rooms, service and attention to detail were excellent, but if you're going to have nespresso machine in the rooms have more that 2 pods, or even some back up instant...great otherwise. Well worth stating. Would definitely use again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was disappointed with the size of the rooms at this hotel. It is a cool concept given it is a converted chapel. However I found the pictures on the website to be a bit misleading. We stayed it the most expensive room in the hotel thinking we would be treating ourselves. It really was not value for money. We definitely expected more given it was the number one ranked hotel on tripadvisor. It is not located in the most central area of Nantes. It is a good 20min walk from the centre. At nighttime not the nicest walk in the world. On the plus side the staff and decor is pretty amazing. The lady that checked us in could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 914seanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews