We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sozo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sozo
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Nantes
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

As everyone else has noted, this hotel is interesting because it is in an old church. Yes the rooms was small but so are most rooms in Europe unless you pay a lot of money. But is was sleek and clean. The space was used well. The bed was tres comfortable. The only problem was the air conditioning had to be controlled by the front desk. It was either blasting cold or tepid which was not bad for sleeping. We opened the window at night and that was fine. I would rather sleep with an open window anyway and so many hotel rooms you cannot open a window.
The service at this hotel was fantastic!!!Every person working the front desk seemed concerned with how our stay was going. They were helpful with our many questions regarding wineries, restaurants, etc....Also, breakfast was great. Try the pot de creme......yum!!! There was a question about whether this was included or not. They did not charge us but said there was usually a charge for it.
As to location, it was great. We walked through the park across the street. i Wish I would have had a park like this when my kids were little. Beautiful for adults and kids. There is a place in the park to sit and get a drink. On the other side of the park is the cathedral and from there it is a short walk to the town with lots of restaurants and shops. Also, Nantes has a tram that can take you throughout the town. Seemed convenient but we never took it. It was so nice out we walked. I am not sure what the tram costs or if it cost anything but check at the desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csw38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    140
    39
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
363
17
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancaster
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are spending 4 nights here to celebrate a special birthday and its just wonderful. Staff are so helpful and friendly. the hotel is opposite a beautifil park ..the jardines de nantes which you can walk through to tne station which is only 5 mins walk away. Whilst not in the centre, everything is easily walkable to and its a quiet area.We booked a superior room, no tub but the shower has great pressure for a third floor room, the room is beautifully appointed with era special little touches and complimentary toiletries. The beds and pillows are so so comfy. tne nespresso machine is a treat. Their is aircon, useful in tne summer..we are here the first week of july which is hot and sunny . Here in this converted chapel there are Such interesting features and stylish use of space with lovely decor. Wifi is available free for guests which is a must. The reception area is so chic cool with chill out music playing quietly. The breakfast is wonderful, lots of fresh local cheeses breads salmon pancakes fruits etc. all delicious.
Would o recommend..am just sorry I on.y have one night left...

Room Tip: We are on third floor 307 overlooking the park. Very quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nirvana90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a really interesting hotel and service is excellent. The use of the architecture is great and our room was lovely. Very comfortable beds and pillows. So would recommend. The only downside are the bar prices. Paying almost 10€ for a pastis even in the nicest hotel in Nantes is a bit rich given that my previous one cost 3,50 € on a terrace overlooking the sea near St.Tropez! You might expect these sort of prices in. 5* London hotel. 2 pretty standard armagnacs cost 30€ !!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Wonderful hotel built inside a converted chapel in the centre of Nantes. Excellent location located near the main railway station and a peaceful park yet still within an easy 10 min walk of the city centre. Staff were very helpful throughout the stay. The room was clean and bright and provided all the facilities required for a short city break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaba, Algeria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

During a business trip in France I stayed at this hotel for just a single day and was really delighted to be a guest of this property. Rooms are pretty, very tastefully decorated and well-appointed with necessary things. Stylish décor of the entire building is really amazing and I loved it. Food is delicious and every meal had a great variety. All the staff members are very hardworking and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. I will love to recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed there for one night on a trip through France. It is a converted church and for my taste a bit too much design and a bit too less functionality. The reception was very kind, good downtown restaurant recommendation, what displeased us though was that our room was definetely too small for two people. In order to find space for our second suitcase, we had to place the (single) chair out of tho room in the aisle. No real wardrobe in the room. Just a small washing facility, the shower on the other hand was fine.
Breakfast was really good. Freshly made orange juice.

Room Tip: Take a bigger room than the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andibuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

It was visually a lovely hotel and we enjoyed our stay. The architecture and renovation of the building is really impressive. But our room was really small. We had paid for the most expensive room, and with two suitcases, there was barely enough room to walk in and out of the room without climbing over the suitcases. Breakfast wasn't included in the room rate. We paid the 14 euros each extra, and it was a good breakfast selection. It was nice having coffee & tea facilities in the room. Nice hotel, but probably wouldn't want to stay there for an extented stay, given the size of the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantes hotels
Graslin - Commerce
Oceania Hotel de France
Oceania Hotel de France
#1 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Decré - Cathédrale
Okko Nantes Chateau
Okko Nantes Chateau
#2 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Voltaire Opera
#3 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Graslin - Commerce
Hotel Pommeraye
Hotel Pommeraye
#5 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Graslin - Commerce
Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sozo

Property: Hotel Sozo
Address: 16 rue Frederic Cailliaud, 44000, Nantes, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Nantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Nantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sozo 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing