We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.”
Review of Amiral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amiral Hotel
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels in Nantes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here in Dec 12 with my ladies cricket team. Location is great. Pubs, restaurants and shops just steps away yet there was no disturbing noises during the night. Friendly staff, clean and modern rooms. Breakfast adequate. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimsn_petal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniro, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
The whole staff Amiral hotel thank you so much for this message.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    245
    45
    19
    7
See reviews for
81
165
29
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 10 nights in November 2012. The hotel is very clean and quiet. The staff is very helpful, although some of them didn't speak fluent English -but it was cute. Improved my French. Breakfast was simple but lots of variety and excellent choices.

Walking distance from lots of tourist attractions in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is very small, as everything French (except for the chateaux of course ;) ), located in the very heart of the old center of the city. The rooms are also small, but so authentic and so sweet, I absolutely loved them. The breakfast is also included which allows you to experience another amazing piece of the French culture. Guest service is very friendly... Overall, I loved it! Will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniro, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Amiral team is pleased to have given satisfaction during your stay.

Nadine WITCZAK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We just came back from here after staying one night (a conveniently centrally located hotel) in advance of our booked flights home after a weeks vacation out in Port Burgenay on the Coast. To say that we were disappointed with our stay would be an understatement. It was one night of torture. When we went to check in we were advised that there was no record of our booking (we booked through Soosh only an hr earlier, so we allowed for this) We gave them a print out of the booking and suggested we leave our bags and go away for a bite to eat. We came back a couple of hrs later and checked in and our room was on the fourth floor, across from the lift (so we were constantly listening to it!) To be fair the room was bright, clean and newly renovated. It was tiny though and really not adequate for a family (two adults and one infant) There is little room to walk around beds and with our added baby cot in the room it was crammed. The room was to the front of the hotel and way too warm, there was A/C to our delight, however, this was broke and only working on one setting (on full!) which meant that it was no good to us without putting it on for ten minute intervals and then having to turn it off as got too cold. The noise at night from outside was ridiculous up until 4am..with windows closed (We are a young couple who know how to party!) and I had ear plugs to drown out the noise. We paid an additional €25.00 for a so called breakfast, please unless you get it for free in your booking, do not avail of this. There was only stale bread one choice cereal (cornflakes) no coffee and no juice at 9.20 am (breakfast served until 10.00am) Reception staff look after the breakfast buffet so on asking a couple of times we got coffee and juice. In all I would say that this Hotel is not ideal for families unless they have larger rooms that can accommodate this.Maybe go out for breakfast, as what you get in hotel is not a substantial Continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RashersIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniro, Responsable commercial at Amiral Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear customer,

I' m realy sorry to be informed, your stay in our hotel was one" night of torture".

First of all, I wanted to let you know unfortunatly the day of your departure, we moved furniture from the first floor to begin rooms renovation .
Our coffee percolator crashed at 7 am this morning and we prepared coffee manually, it was long and laborious.
We apologize to you for that situation, we were wrong we can say that...and may be more...

After reading your message, we verified the A/C in room 437, the room we suppose you were staying for one night. The air conditioning works at all three speeds and not only on full, but we need to verify this customer information following our quality process.

To answer to your question, we have larger rooms, triple and quadruple .
To get a family room , it's better to deal directly with the hotel staff and not to book via an "on line booking site", half an hour before check-in.
You would have preferred a triple room and not a double one with a free baby cot like precised on your electronic booking. It 's a shame for all of us.

Nadine Witczak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is well located near Theatre Graslin, with bars and restaurants nearby. Whilst the room was compact it had everything you needed including a bar fridge. The hotel offered a laundry service, a good buffet breakfast and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu_Sydney_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a great little hotel in the town centre, near shops and within walking distance of restaurants and bars. About five minutes walk to the tram stop. We were on the fifth floor at the back of the hotel. We stayed for seven nights, and experienced none of the problems with noise that other guests have mentioned. Although there are a couple of bars/restaurants outside they did not seem particularly noisy. The hotel was comfortable and clean, and the bedroom was a reasonable size for a city centre hotel The bathroom did have a hand held shower, but this was adequate. We thought it was worth having the breakfast. There was a lot of fruit and a good selection of breads, cake, cheese, yoghurt etc, and the coffee was good. Air conditioning worked well. We slept with the window open at night. The staff were lovely, charming and helpful. They all spoke English. Our 9 year old loved this hotel, and the receptionists were very friendly towards him.

We would have liked to have had tea/coffee making facilities in our room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great hotel, centrally located with very comfortable beds. The aircon is a little weak. Very very very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sceptre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantes hotels
Graslin - Commerce
Oceania Hotel de France
Oceania Hotel de France
#1 of 108 in Nantes
641 reviews
Hotel Voltaire Opera
#4 of 108 in Nantes
325 reviews
Graslin - Commerce
Hotel Nantes Centre Passage Pommeraye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Decré - Cathédrale
Okko Nantes Chateau
Okko Nantes Chateau
#2 of 108 in Nantes
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amiral Hotel

Property: Amiral Hotel
Address: 26 B rue Scribe, 44000, Nantes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Nantes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nantes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nantes
#25 Business Hotel in Nantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amiral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amiral provides 49 fully equipped bedrooms, mini bar air conditioning rooms on request, reception 27/7.In close proximity of the theatre, you'll discover cinemas, pubs,luxury shops and famous restaurants. You'll enjoy a variety of local delicaries carefully selected for you. Laureate 2015 "Palms of the French hotel industry" in the category Ecology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amiral Hotel Nantes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing