We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Paludier - CLOSED

Le Paludier
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Graslin - Commerce
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I should have know better. The interior is poor and the prices are far below european standards so in fact you cannot expect a lot. Payment was also a disaster. At first they would not accept cash and when they finally accepted they returned only on 50 € instead of 100 €. A bit strange. Not ??

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pepe0049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroreAnthony, Gérant at Le Paludier, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We are really sorry not to have proposed you the service you were waiting for. Concerning the payment, we hadn't the necessary tickets in our cash register and went to get change in the establishment next to our. The language barrier was maybe a blocking to understand each other. Thanks for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    51
    2
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must-Experience Destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Le Paludier is tucked away in a quiet neighborhood on a corner - get a table outside so you can eat and watch the world go by. We needed a bit of help translating some parts of the menu but between our limited French and the server's limited English we did just fine.Their specialty is fish and they didn't disappoint. Their pre-fixe selections are more than enough and affordable (appetizer, entree, dessert). Good wine list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank new282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
347 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Recommended by our hotel it did not disappoint. Many locals in and the place was fully booked which was a good sign. Portions very good and food to be recommended. A very nice atmosphere and very central.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidwnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

A family dinner was my third time (after May and July 2012) at this restaurant and once again it was just great. The atmosphere is nice, the staff professional and most importantly the food as well as its presentations are of great quality and creativity. On our table we tried all starters (a cheese specialty, nephrops and pumpkin soup) and catch (ling, sea bass and sea bream with different sides) of the day, and there was nowhere the slightest reason for criticism. Same for the desserts and the decent wine selection. All in all, everything was cooked and arranged
to perfection. I have tested so far many (great) restaurants in Nantes (and France), but at least if you cherish seafood, le Paludier so far beats them all with just this extra quality. Even more so if you consider the great value: Three course dinner menus on this amazing level starting from 21 Euros are a real bargain.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Z F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food, better value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Another birthday, another restaurant. Thanks to the generally very good reviews in Tripadvisor (and its close proximity to the cinema showing Skyfall) we decided to try this place.

Not disappointed. The chef obviously knows what he's doing. The foie gras was excellent, beautifully presented and with lots of different little condiments to go with it. I ordered the Scallop Marmite for my main and I did find it too "crustaceany", too "seafood bisquey" for my liking but that's just my taste. Others will certainly like it. The brunette offered me her dish (well, it was my birthday!) of "persillade de seiche (squid) aux chanterelles" and it was lovely.

A great, white Coteaux de Languedoc and excellent service but the biggest plus of this restaurant (whisper it) is that, at 27 euros for the set menu, very good value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Streaky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Paludier also viewed

Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
 
Sainte-Luce-sur-Loire, Nantes
Nantes, Loire-Atlantique
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing