We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly City centre hotel”
Review of Duquesne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duquesne Hotel
Ranked #44 of 108 Hotels in Nantes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The trickiest part of my visit to Nantes was getting from the autoroute into the City Centre as the signage is appalling but once I had located the Place de 50 Otages and the Hotel Duquesne it was all plain sailing. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel attractively decorated. Our room was on the top (5th) floor so the water pressure was unreliable and the radiators came on at unpredictable times, but otherwise I cannot find fault with anything. The breakfast was generous and tasty and we were able to have hot drinks on demand. There were plenty of excellent restaurants just a few yards from the front door and we were brilliantly placed in the City Centre for sight seeing and shopping.

Room Tip: Top floor water pressure not brilliant! But views fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 139 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is a typical French city centre, no frills hotel. It actually has a really quaint reception area with lovely stone pillars.
The rooms are spartan and extremely basic with pretty naff colours and plasterwork on the walls. In my room, the ceiling light was nowehere near the centre of the room, meaning reading a book was a little difficult in the dim light, even with the fairly useless bedside lights.
The bathroom was ok, but the complete lack of shower curtain (what is it with French hotels and shower curtains) means that everything gets soaked. I slept well though, which is the main thing!
Breakfast is pretty basic, although the breakfast room is quite nice. The reception staff are ever so friendly and couldn't do enough, even getting me coffee as I waited for my taxi.
The location of this hotel is excellent, very near to just about everything including the tram network.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajt_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location! It's extremely well placed for the centre and is a great base to explore from. We were slightly anxious about noise when we arrived as it's on what appears to be a main road but we slept with the window open every night (no air-con!) and couldn't hear a thing! We also felt safe returning each night. It is a quite a basic hotel-our room was very spacious and clean-but there wasn't any air-con and it didn't feel especially luxurious. The staff were very friendly though and it was the perfect place to stay considering we weren't actually in it much!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NStride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend recently. We happened to be in Nantes when the Presidential Election result was announced and there was a great buzz about the city that night! This little hotel is well located and was excellent value for the price we paid. It is very centrally located and we received a lovely welcome from Mathieu, but all of the reception staff were friendly too! Our room was overlooking the street and to my delight had a little French door balcony which allowed the evening sunshine peek through the trees. The street noise was very effectively screened with the glazing and shutters. The hotel is very old but has recently been renovated. The shower does not have a screen so the floor can get very wet! The lighting in the room was not great but there was free wifi which was great.
For the price we paid for this hotel...... it was brilliant!
There is a really nice place almost next door where you can get great food and drink, I think it is called Le Coc en Pate? Lovely friendly staff, good job people!
Down the street to the other side of the hotel is a fantstic little pub with a Guinness sign outside, it is called Le Masque? It is owned by a lady called Josie and she is absolutely wonderful. We saw the election result come in there and it was terrific to witness!
Nantes is OK but truthfully it's not a city we would be rushing back to. It isn't very pretty although you can see there has been an effort to improve it's appearance. We also noticed a lot of pepole begging, drinking and sleeping rough. Sorry Nantes!

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the street, no noise problems with the effective glazing and shutters, nice to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palestine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have just got back from a trip around france and had been staying at a hotel in la Rochelle and didn't like it. We had 2 nights booked but after the first night couldn't stay any longer and so we booked this hotel through late rooms on the day of our stay. The hotel was great! The staff we very friendly and the location was very central especially for the castle and the cathedral. The staff also spoke great english and were very helpful with the sights to see in nantes. The room was lovely and had everything you need. We would definitely recommend this hotel and visit again. We usually prefer to stay at at least 4 star accommodation and there is no way this is only a 2 star hotel.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Walshy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We got a great price for a triple room at Hotel Duquesne, which had a double and a single bed and a large en-suite bathroom. The hotel is a stone's throw from the cathedral and the château, and also is very close to a tram stop, which was useful for getting to and from the train station with heavy bags. There is a 24h reception with very friendly staff, and we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martinenasone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantes hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Voltaire Opera
Hotel Voltaire Opera
#3 of 108 in Nantes
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel de Nantes
Grand Hotel de Nantes
#43 of 108 in Nantes
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Nantes Centre Tour Bretagne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Perouse
Hotel La Perouse
#25 of 108 in Nantes
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria Nantes
Hotel Astoria Nantes
#46 of 108 in Nantes
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amiral Hotel
Amiral Hotel
#9 of 108 in Nantes
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duquesne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duquesne Hotel

Address: 12 allee Duquesne, 44000, Nantes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Nantes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 108 Hotels in Nantes
Price Range: $61 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duquesne Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Duquesne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing