We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights as part of our honeymoon in France and it was a nice little hotel in a great location in Angers, just off one of the main squares. Great little breakfast too which was nice!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danclay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    102
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
83
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel Continental on a chilly, rainy night. The desk clerk was very helpful and even lent her umbrella for a few minutes when I went out to move the car to overnight parking. The breakfast in the morning was good but not outstanding. After breakfast we went out to explore Angers, finding that the hotel was within walking distance of all of the places we wanted to visit (the museum, the chateau, and the cathedral). We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenaiAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Really nothing but compliments about this hotel after a 3 day weekend stay. Friendly and helpful staff, pleasant breakfast, clean room with modern bathroom, quiet, well located, air conditioning, well located for site seeting, and only 15 minutes walk to the station, WiFi...
I wish some of the crumbling 2 stars I have stayed in in Paris could be recalibrated against this place.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The beds are standard French 140x190 cm and so may be on the small side of larger visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doonfooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The room was called "Harmonie" and on the corner of hotel. A comfortable bed in a smallish room. Wifi connection available in room. Breakfast very poor for what you pay. Its cheaper to cross over the street to cafes. Staff polite and courteous. No parking attached to the hotel. Car parking nearby. We had problems with "too much heat in room" on the first night but they rectified this on the second night. The position of hotel is very central. My overall opinion was that when in France- use the bigger chain hotels as they are sometimes cheaper and offer more. This, I have experienced so many times in the last few months.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a toilet brush
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grarory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
207 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Great location, great organic breakfast, clean rooms. Not the best of isolations, but still much better than in other places we stayed at in France

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Very central (though our sat nav got very confused!) but our room was quiet, despite overlooking the street. Friendly English speaking staff, comfy bed, clean throughout. We were very pleased to be offered an organic breakfast. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We liked this little hotel right in the middle of town. The do not have their own parking but we were lucky and found a spot very near. Breatfast was ok (french style).
the room was small but got all that we needed. The value was great and as it was in the middle of town we had shopping malls just outside the door. Wifi was not working very well however.

Room Tip: We had room towards the back and it was quite enough to sleep well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pär B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Angers hotels
Hotel 21 Foch
#1 of 33 in Angers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ralliement
Hotel du Mail
Hotel du Mail
#7 of 33 in Angers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Hotel De Champagne
#16 of 33 in Angers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: 14 rue Louis de Romain, 49100, Angers, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city center of Angers, near the center of the congresses, the pedestrian streets and all the most beautiful historic sites, the Continental Hotel is ideally located for your stays of business and leisure activities. In his beautiful personalized, soundproof and air-conditioned and non-smoking rooms. You will find all the atmosphere of a comfortable charming hotel. The team welcomes you and guarantees you a quality service 24h / 24h, 7days a week. The direct access to the streetcar, to the buses, to the public parking (in 1€ per night), as well as the unlimited WIFI feel free from all your material concerns. Be by our side, actor of tomorrow by staying in the 1st ecofriendly hotel in Angers where the ecological awareness puts into a well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing