We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good choice for a city apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Appart'City Angers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Appart'City Angers
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good choice for a city apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great little apartment in Angers in a quiet-ish part of Angers. Very clean and newly built I think. Space for cycles in separate lockable room off the main garage. The apartment has basic cooking facilities, quite adequate, although space is at a premium and it may feel a little squashed-in if you cook there as eating space is a bit small. Stayed 2 nights, no complaints. Book early and it only costs €40 per night, a bargain

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLJubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    87
    40
    18
    12
See reviews for
43
72
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

5 nights in June booked via booking.com. at a time when everything has been heavily booked, so this would not have been first choice.

unfortunately, we stayed here after having stayed 4nights in an Adagio appartment in Nantes which was superb, but which obviously affects our view of this place.

Negatives
€1 per item for bags prior to 3 pm checkin
€2 per day for wifi
Rubbish from previous occupant left outside bedroom door
Very small room (to be fair, we knew this)
Wobbly fridge, 1 of the levellers missing, so we had to wedge something under in order to keep door shut
Very limited crockery etc, some missing compared to list
No kettle
microwave up very high
One dishwasher tablet ! (Adagio had several)
One very thin, very small bath towel per person -no hand towels, not even plastic cups in bathroom for rinsing
broken table in bedroom, supposedly for being able to sit and eat, which would be impossible due
to room size anyway, so for eating we have to sit on bed

No written instructions for anything (even B&b's have a "welcome" info pack)
Stifling heat in rooms even with window open. The building is hot, you feel it when you enter. Fyi the temp outside is 24C, so to an Australian, that's a mild winter's day.
Overpowering smell when the rooms, lift etc being cleaned...hold your breath until outside otherwise you'll be coughing all day!
One washing machine and one dryer in laundry -one of which was out of order. Luckily there is a laundromat not far away.


Ok some positives

hmm...

comfy bed, although small double
location - short walk toplenty of bars/cafes/restaurants/shops
Carrefour supermarket less than 5mins walk
close to tram for transport



Relatively cheap (although still more expensive than Adagio)
Nice shower (I'm trying to be positive)

That is really all I can find on positive side.
not letting it ruin our extended honeymoon around Europe though:)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karalynbice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,295 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Had a twin studio for 3 nights. Had pre booked , room was compact with good size bathroom with shower. Bedroom had a small fold out table which was sutable for 2 persons. Kitchenette was in hallway but was actually quite functional with twin hob, sink, fridge , small dishwasher and a couple of cupboards housing crockery , a couple of pots and cutlery.
Being new it was spick and span great value for staying in Angers being easy walking distance to the town and opposite the university. the room (no.507 on top floor) had large opening windows, and was well insulated from any noise. Comfy beds for good nights sleep. Secure parking is available at extra cost . We parked 2 motorcycles for €9.50 per night and it's very secure with automatic locked door to get in and out from the road. We did notice a couple of M/c's just parked outside on the wide pavement overnight night if you want a less secure cheaper option.

Room Tip: Top floor gives some views of the town but quite limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle on tyne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

having been travelling in France for thirty years, and contradicting the accepted view that the french were rude, for all that time, i at last came across a receptionist so disinterested in her job that she ruined what could have been a pleasant experience. the Apart'city block in Angers if fine enough and functional enough, having stayed at the Adagio self catering apartments in Aix en Provence, which was bliss, it was a slight disappointment.
what marked me as a troublemaker with the front desk was inquiring whether the apartment we had booked was non smoking, the receptionist confirmed that it was, i then pointed out that someone had been smoking a lot and the rooms stank. she told me that the smoke alarms could be switched off and that they had no other accommodation. i can't remember whether the shrug was real or i imagined it. so when i later asked for help over a wifi connection her response was abrupt and unhelpful. this is why the british are loth to complain, because they fear they'll be punished for it.
France is so huge that you are obliged to break journeys for your children's sake, this self catering suite was ok and reasonably priced, as we say in Britain, "couldn't complain".
in Britain many people who work in the hospitality industry are actively inhospitable, i'd never come across it in France, but it had to happen one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoltan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manche, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Brand new, clean and convenient - opposite the University and very close to Tram Line to access all parts of the city.

Booked a studio - good sized double bed, well equipped kitchenette with fridge, sink, hot plates, microwave and mini dishwasher and plenty of plates, cups, glasses etc., and good sized bathroom.

Ma\id service once a week.

No reception service on Sundays - wonder what would happen in an emergency?

A little cramped in bedroom but altogther excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Angers hotels
Hotel Continental
#12 of 33 in Angers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ralliement
Mercure Angers Centre
Mercure Angers Centre
#5 of 33 in Angers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Hotel Le Royalty
#17 of 33 in Angers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'City Angers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Angers

Property: Appart'City Angers
Address: 59 rue de Rennes, 49100, Angers, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Angers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Angers 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Appart'City Angers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing