We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Meal”
Review of La Ferme

La Ferme
Ranked #39 of 444 Restaurants in Angers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The restaurant is located close to the city's cathedral and although slightly out of the main tourist area is not too far to walk. The meals we had were all lovely and the menu offered a wide selection. The service was good, although be warned English was not spoken.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UK_Xbox_Widow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    173
    67
    31
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“excellent range and quality”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We ate here on a Monday night and were perhaps lucky to get in without reservation.
We all had different dishes and all were excellent, with a recommended local wine. Most of the customers were French(a good sign). A sample of the food eaten by our party was: wild boar; sandre(a local fish); poule au pot and lamb. A wide range of excellent quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice location but very slow service.”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I took lunch here as it was recommended in our guidebook - the menu is interesting, the food was excellent ( although my choice of "chicken in a pot like grandma does" was insipid/very dull). The service was exceedingly slow and the waiter displayed the classic Gallic disinterest/ total absence of charm sadly all too often shown to foreign visitors.
Neighbouring tables occupied by French nationals who arrived at the same time as we, were eating their mains before we had even received our starters ?!
Note I speak French tolerably well ( my mother brought me up bi-lingual so it was not a question of poor communications) !
Personally, I would not eat here again despite the food/location both being quite nice, because there was too much "attitude" shown by our waiter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roland J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This modern restaurant near to the Chateau was excellent, we had a very enjoyable lunch,the restaurant was packed but the service didn't suffer.Good French food,we would not hestitae to return

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place next to the cathedral”
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Nice restaurant. Good food.

We both had the set menu a which was 19 euro each. 3 courses as all were excellent. The only thing lacking, which meant I did not give it full marks, was no veg with the main. We had the confit de canard and it came with some fab potatoes but no green veg. Other than that it was great.

Highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Custard-cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ferme also viewed

Angers, Maine et Loire
Angers, Maine et Loire
 
Angers, Maine et Loire
Angers, Maine et Loire
 

Been to La Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing