We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Angers Centre Gare
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

As said in the title, the location of the hotel is excellent. It is easy to be found and reached, even when you arrive at the railway station late in the evening. From Gare St. Laud It takes 10-15 minutes walk to get to the hotel.

Rooms were nice and tidy, the staff we met was kind. Wi-fi connection was poor.

I was disappointed with the situation when we were not allowed to have a breakfast was at 6 o'clock in the morning, although all the food was already served on the tables, the breakfast paid in advance and our early leave announced the evening before) or to prepare some sandwiches, because "the breakfast was not ready yet".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    269
    77
    16
    5
See reviews for
69
158
55
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, null, Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On a recent trip in france we stopped on a night in Angers i have been to many mecures and novatels this one is not great it's nice but the rooms are slightly dated there is only one rude guy on the counter who gives you awful service and the lift was tiny!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a fairly standard hotel - reasonably new and clean and nice, without being great. The big benefit is the central location in beautiful Angers. The reception staff seemed somewhat blasé compared to what we saw elsewhere in France, but friendly and helpful enough. Nice place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 751Jasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great hotel and so well located.
The superior rooms are a little bigger which we prefer.
Hotel staff and so friendly and the restaurant at the front of the hotel is excellent.
Parking is available under the hotel at no extra charge.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms have a bit more space to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresab7529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed in Mercure Angers Centre Foch for 4 nights when I attended a conference in Angers in early July. The hotel location was good, right in the centre, and easy to walk to most places. The nearest parking costed 14.50 euro a day. The car park was about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. It was not too far to walk to, but far enough to be annoying when you got lots of luggages.
During the first two days of our stay, we noticed that we both got bitten a lot. Since the bites were everywhere (on the legs, arms, back, neck...), we believed that we must have been bitten at night in the hotel. On our third night of stay, after some online research, we followed the instruction and unfortunately found a bed bug in our bed. The receptionist seemed genuinely shocked when we reported this, and she immediately arranged another room for us. We were ungraded to a better room (from no coffee machine and no fridge to a coffee machine and a fridge, and from 2 paper cups only to 2 ceramic cups plus 2 paper cups...hooray!). In the following morning, the manager came to our old room (room 118, in case you want to know) with a claimed expert (we insisted that they needed to call a pest control company to check the room, but we were not convinced that the person was actually from a pest control company). Unfortunately, we found a habitat of bed bugs in the bed base. The hotel then offered to wash all of our clothes in order to remove the bed bugs and eggs, since our luggages had been in the room for over 72 hours at that point. Once we gave them our clothes, we headed out to do whatever we had to do on that day. When we came back to the hotel in the late evening (this was our last night of stay, Saturday night), our clothes were nowhere to be seen. We had to ring the reception, but were initially told that our laundry would be ready by Monday morning. It was quite shocking, as we were scheduled to leave the hotel on Sunday. After explaining that to the reception, they then promised to deliver our clothes to our room on Sunday morning. The laundry did arrive the next morning, but it was still a little damp (maybe because they had to rush it).
Following the online instruction about bed bugs, we emptied our suitcases and bags to shake them in the bathroom in order to check if any bed bug went into our luggages. Annoyingly, we found 2 more bed bugs from our bags. There might or might not be more bed bugs in our bags, but we did not want to risk it. Determined not to bring any bed bug home, we told the hotel that we could not possibly keep using our bags. The hotel could not get us some replacement suitcases and bags, as it was a Sunday when no shop was open. The hotel promised to reimburse the cost of the replacement bags. Despite feeling extremely annoyed and stressed, we had to continue our trip with our belongings in about 15 sealed plastic bags. (I felt like a homeless person when I carried the plastic bags to the car!)
When we got home, we washed all our clothes again in 60 degrees and cleaned things that cannot go into the washing machine with steam. Apart from that, we had to use a insect fumer in the car, which made the car sting for a couple of days.What a nightmare.
Overall, it was a terrible experience due to the bed bugs. We did not feel that the hotel manager believed us when we reported the bed bugs in our room in the first place. When we emailed the hotel regarding how they can sort out the cost of getting the replacement bags, there was no reply. After 4 days of no response, we rang the hotel, but the reception did not seem to understand what we were talking about and just promised to get the manager to call us back. Shockingly, there was no phone call from them.
The existence of bed bugs does not refer to poor cleaning. Any hotel guest can bring bed bugs in, and the bed bugs can hide in the bed base or other places. However, we are very disappointed about how the hotel deals with situation. During the stressful stay, we were pretty much on our won. We never received a formal apology or assistance (apart from the the laundry that returned damp). Hence, we do not feel that they really care about their customers. We would not stay there ever again, and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ycpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Angers hotels
Hotel 21 Foch
#1 of 33 in Angers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Ralliement
Mercure Angers Centre
Mercure Angers Centre
#5 of 33 in Angers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ralliement
Hotel du Mail
Hotel du Mail
#7 of 33 in Angers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Angers Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Angers Centre Gare

Property: Mercure Angers Centre Gare
Address: 18 boulevard du Marechal Foch, 49100, Angers, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Angers Centre Gare 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set 10 minutes’ walk from the city centre and 5 minutes’ walk from the train station, the All Seasons Angers Centre Gare has it all, and offers all-inclusive rates.The modern and cosy rooms can accommodate solo travellers, romantic getaways and families. They are fitted with excellent bedding with anti-stress pillows and duvets, and 26-inch flat-screen TV. high-speed free Wi-Fi access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Angers Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing