We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class chambre d’hote with every facility you could wish for.”
Review of Le Mortier

Le Mortier
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loire Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Mortier
Ranked #296 of 396 Loire Valley B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Welcoming hospitality and lovely accommodation. The food is fantastic. First class chambre d’hote. The location is peaceful and relaxing with every facility you could wish for. It is a good location for touring the surrounding area. Our first visit, but I would use this chambre d’hote again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJMYORKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 14 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

Arrived very tired and late but we were made so welcome by Joan & Peter and all the stress soon evaporated. Peter cooked us a fabulous meal and we spent a wonderful evening with them in the setting sunshine being made to feel so very much at home. Our room was spotless and had everything we could have wanted, giving us a lovely view through the French doors over the garden. We were only staying for one night but would definately go back and rent the Gite so we could explore the local area. You will have to go a long way to find better accomodation, food and company.

Thank you again Joan & Peter, a great stay and a great start to our holiday.

Room Tip: Try to rent the Gites if you want to stay more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were immediately made welcome by Peter, Joan and their 2 dogs. Having booked B&B we were offered the gite, it was spacious, clean and had everything you needed. The meal and the company were excellent.
An ideal place to stay if you are seeking a quiet, restful retreat but within an easy travel time to Chateaus and local attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttc544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stumbled on this wonderful B&B, when searching for somewhere to stay whilst house hunting about 4 years' ago. Le Mortier is always our first choice for our overnight stay en route to and from our house near Bergerac, roughly halfway from Calais.

Peter and Joan are always so welcoming, indeed so are all their pets.

Not only is it excellent as an overnight stop, it is also a great base to enable you to discover the delights of the Loire region, chateaux and vineyards alike. Also, after a long and weary day of sightseeing, you can enjoy a dip in the heated pool or hot tub.

We stayed at the gite on our first visit, which was perfect for the 2 of us, and ever since then on a B&B basis. The bedrooms are very all very comfortable and the showers excellent, not your usual French plumbing.

No need to stray too far to eat either, as Peter is a fantastic chef. His food is absolutely scrummy. He tries to give us something different every time we visit, but all I remember is how delicious it's been. You can be assured of a good night’s sleep, especially after one of Peter’s fabulous meals, which is always washed down by copious amounts of the excellent local wine. Breakfast is pretty good too,

Looking forward to our next visit in September.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella5213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Our fourth visit to Le Mortier and the fifth is already booked for next year.
Joan & Peter are the perfect hosts, they are available when you need them and working in the background when you don't.
Le Mortier is a tranquil location where you can unwind by the pool or in the Jacuzzi and is ideally located to explore the many chateaux, towns and villages of the Loire, there are so many to choose from. The continental breakfast sets you up for the day, then if needed, a very light lunch or snack in one of the many cafes will keep you going until your evening meal.
Peter is the chef, he has a passion for cooking, just try an evening meal at the start of your stay and you will want them every night. A fantastic three course meal with wine, civilised and relaxing, a perfect end to the day... or to finish off you can sit in the jacuzzi and watch the stars float by until late in the evening. It is beautiful, thats why we return.

Room Tip: the whole area is quiet with countryside views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wortam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This was our fifth stay in the B&B at Le Mortier. Unfortunately we could only stay one night this time, but, as always, were made very welcome. We favour the upstairs twin as it has a little more room but mind your head at the top of the stairs! It is quite self contained with modern ensuite and fridge, if you need it. The location is extremely quiet, being in the middle of the countryside. As usual, we booked an evening meal, prepared by Peter, and as always, were treated to a fantastic three course dinner accompanied by generous quantities of local wines. The continental breakfast never disappoints with a wide choice but one can hardly do it justice after the previous evening's meal! Joan and Peter are always very helpful and ensure an enjoyable stay. We have used Le Mortier as a staging post en route to other parts of France (or Spain) and used it as a base for exploring the Loire and its many chateaux. It is highly recommended for either purpose.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoveringJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We were made very welcome and introduced to our room (we stayed in B&B, not gite). Joan and Peter could not be more accomodating and offered us the use of crockery as we were having a snack rather than a meal. The hot tub was lovely with a glass of wine (well plastic glass really) watching the ponies in the field. Lovely countryside, quiet and very relaxing. Would definately recommend this to anyone. Thanks to Joan and Peter

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie_sueuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loire Valley hotels
58.5 mi away
La Vallee du Cher
La Vallee du Cher
#3 of 5 in Monthou-sur-Cher
33 reviews
62.6 mi away
Le clos de Chatres
Le clos de Chatres
#2 of 2 in Oisly
14 reviews
33.2 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.7 mi away
Le Clos du Cher
Le Clos du Cher
#1 of 2 in Noyers-sur-Cher
82 reviews
30.5 mi away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
92.9 mi away
Best Western Grand Monarque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mortier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mortier

Address: La Ligererie | 49490, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Loire Valley
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing