We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel Le Charleston!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Charleston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Charleston
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Le Mans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel Le Charleston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night as a stop over from the South of France to Calais. I cannot fault one thing here. Our group had a booking of two rooms for 5 persons. The rooms were clean, beautifully decorated and spacious enough for a short stay. All staff spoke great English and Francoise on reception was very helpful with directions. The hotel is a 5 min walk to the city centre. The breakfast buffet was plentiful. I would definitely go back if I return to Le Mans.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    116
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
44
112
14
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Hotel Le Charleston is a wonderful boutique hotel ideally placed to explore Le Mans. It is located in a quiet side road just a few minutes walk from the train station and tram stop and maybe 20 minutes from the old town. The hotel has secure underground parking (for a small extra fee) and although the entrance is narrow and steep the carpark itself is fine with stairs leading straight into the hotel.

My wife and I were greeted by friendly English speaking staff and shown to our room on the first floor. Like the rest of the hotel, the room and en-suite was clean, well presented and decorated with some great '30s touches. We overlooked the small courtyard that became a sheltered suntrap during the afternoon, just right to top up the tan!

Breakfast was the usual continental buffet affair but once again nicely presented and containing all you would reasonably expect.

Highly recommended, we would certainly recommend and stay here again in future.

Room Tip: Our room was 'inside' overlooking the courtyard and was very quiet; I don't expect any s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed one night in a family room - clean and comfy but no air con.

Is only 15 minutes walk into town - or the tram stop is very close.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Downsides - very small car park with no lift and narrow staircase, limited breakfast buffet and wifi signal not too good

I would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micahat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Lovely small hotel. 10-15mins walk away from the old part of town. Lovely big triple room. Very comfortable bed. Great to have tea and coffee making facilities in room. Carpark was very narrow to get in and out of but its under the hotel and secure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huercal-Overa, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed just one night in this hotel. It was clean and comfortable and for an extra 7 Euros I was able to park my car in the secure garage. Close to the centre of Le Mans. I would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholasxmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Superb hotel, 20 minutes walk to the medieval part of the town where La Nuit des Chimeres is displayed during July to August, an experience not to be missed. Excellent breakfast and secure parking for a small fee

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quiet street, ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dddeeefff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent small hotel..quiet comfortable well appointed rooms (yes and tea and coffee making facilities !!!), pleasant staff, wonderful breakfast and close to railway station (hire car agencies nearby too) which is a blessing after 24 hours from Australia and then a train trip to Le Mans! Not many "family friendly" restaurants nearby (the area is a slightly tired one near the station), but lots of choice just a pleasant walk away into the old town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Mans hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Le Mans Centre
Ibis Le Mans Centre
#1 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Le Mans Centre
Mercure Le Mans Centre
#4 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Concordia Hotel
Concordia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Le Mans Centre
1.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
#7 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Pommeraie
La Pommeraie
#8 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Charleston

Property: Hotel Le Charleston
Address: 18 rue Gastelier, 72000, Le Mans, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Le Mans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Le Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing