We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, Dingy Rooms”
Review of Chantecler Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chantecler Hotel
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Le Mans
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in late May as part of our vacation in France. The location of the hotel is great! It is a few blocks from the train station and it is also located near a tram stop. The tram will take you to various place in Le Mans. There is a small grocery store about a couple of blocks near the hotel and we shopped there rather than eating at the hotel restaurant. We tried the buffet one morning, but for the price the selection was rather meager (e.g., stale bread, some fruit and cheese).

The rooms were dirty and worn. The walls were stained and could have use a fresh coat of paint. There is no A/C in this hotel but there was cool breeze in the evenings so it wasn't noticeable. There was free wired internet so that was a plus.

The best thing about this hotel was the staff. They were wonderful and made you feel at home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tex_Traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Chantecler Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 79 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

Hidden away on the myriad of small streets 5 mins from the station. Make sure you know where you are going and which station exit to take otherwise you might take some time to find the hotel. Room was spacious although furntiure an decor was a little dated. Bathroom was newer and clean. Only a short walk to the old town and the station so perfectly positioned for both business and pleasure! Very good breakfast served early to meet our early start time. Service was good. WiFi access limited to reception and surrounding areas and a little hit or miss giving the staff some headcahces with regular reboots to get it going. Overall nice, comfortable and good service, without being memorable.

Room Tip: Close to reception for WiFi coverage - very quiet road, so no need to worry about traffic noise
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

All the staff are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble for any of them. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. Central location to the trams and the square and shops and restaurants, very useful location.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We reserved the Bain Luxe room which ended up being a good size room and bathroom with a separate toilet room. Lighting in the bath was excellent with the halogen lamps being well placed so grooming is easily accomplished. The room and bath must have just been painted so everything was spotless. One catch to this room class is the headboard is against the central hall wall so you can hear if someone closes their door or talks loudly.
Our stay was a Friday night near the end of September and we enjoyed some very warm weather which meant the windows had to be open during the evening for a breeze as there is no AC. There is a bit of street noise in any city but the side of this hotel is on a street that seem to get a few large trucks. We always pack ear plugs for hotels stays just in case. The hotel was filled with motorcyclists also so the parking lot was full but we were lucky enough to get in early and walked everywhere which was very convenient.
Carpet on the stairs was a bit rough and the breakfast room was full with the cyclists who were in no hurry to make room so we could not eat there.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the side street would be a better choice in warm weather.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarcassonneGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Recently renovated room and bathroom on first floor was very comfortable and welcoming. Lift in lobby to upper levels. Room size adequate. Very comfortable mattress and bedding. Free fast internet via cable in room. Reception staff spoke English and were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good and was the usual French fare of baguette, jams, croissant and pastries, apple compote, tea, coffee etc. Only complaint was the framing of my bed made noises as though something was loose in it. I stayed for 2 nights. Close enough to restaurants and bars for walking. Good location to railway station. Ample free car parking. All in all highly recommended. I understand from other guests that not all rooms have been renovated yet.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PakMungkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Located in a one street, it can be difficult to find for the first time but this is a minor point, given its quiet location and off street parking. Its an easy walk to the centre of town, where there are plenty of eating places and things to do. The rooms are relatively big with good facilities, very clean and comfortable. Very good stop over point for travel south. The staff were very helpful and made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We had a ‘junior suite’ for one night, a Saturday at the end of September, at the cost of £83 including taxes but not breakfast. A small anteroom with a comfortable sofa and writing desk led into a spacious bedroom. The bed was capacious but rather hard. The wall opposite was dominated by an enormous flat-screen HD TV. Although it was interesting to watch HD, only the free-to-view stations appeared available. The bathroom/toilet, via a flimsy door, was clean but tired with laminate top and inset washbasin. No teamaking in rooms, but afternoon tea was available as an extra in the salon downstairs. Breakfast was adequate, just, and brought to the table in a pleasant breakfast room on individual trays. The weather was cold that weekend but there was no heating on. A mild complaint produced apologies, but it was clear that it wasn’t in the plan to have central heating on in September. If we had been warm in our room I would have rated the hotel very good.

We weren’t expecting a car park, and we weren’t charged, so this was a bonus, but it’s likely to be in demand during the week when there are more guests.

Although other reviewers have mentioned the 15 minute walk to the old town and the restaurants, there is an alternative on a cold evening - we took the tram! The nearest stop is three minutes from the hotel and a slick modern (2007) articulated tram glides past every few minutes. Getting a ticket is easy from the machine at each stop (you have to validate your ticket when you get on the tram) and the route is clearly marked on the city map available free from the receptionist. We got off three stops later at the edge of the old town and used the tram to get back after a good supper. Well worth the ride if only to experience a modern tram service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Mans hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Charleston
Hotel Le Charleston
#1 of 41 in Le Mans
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Le Mans Centre
Ibis Le Mans Centre
#2 of 41 in Le Mans
563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Le Mans Centre
Mercure Le Mans Centre
#4 of 41 in Le Mans
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Concordia Hotel
Concordia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Le Mans
210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
#6 of 41 in Le Mans
564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Le Mans Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantecler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantecler Hotel

Address: 50 rue de la Pelouse, 72000, Le Mans, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Le Mans
Price Range: $103 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chantecler Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in center town, in a quiet district, between Le Mans Station and the Congress Center, a few minutes'walk from the Old City, The Chantecler Hotel is situated for your business trip or a touristic stop over.Open 24/24. Enjoy our free parking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chantecler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chantecler Hotel Le Mans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing