We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold bathrooms, street noise, small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Le Mans Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Le Mans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I was told by my colleague, a Le Mans native, that this was the best hotel in Le Mans, and it may be, but it is not a 5 or even 4 star hotel. The building is lovely but it is on the corner of a busy street, and my 2nd floor room got a lot of street noise. The bathroom was large, with a standalone, glassed in shower, but it was unheated and when I returned from work, the maid had closed the door between the room and the bath, so the heat could not move from one to the other. This led to a cold bathroom indeed! The room -- a single -- was also quite small and the only English speaking channel was BBC World Service. The breakfast is quite nice if you are happy with typical European offerings, as I am. There is no restaurant but you can get room service from the Michelin starred Le Beaulieu next door. I had room service once and very much enjoyed it. You cannot get food on Sunday, however, which is a huge problem as about only one restaurant in Le Mans is open on Sunday for dinner (La Taverne). The staff speaks acceptable English. There is a parking garage that is rather dangerous to enter or exit. Overall, not a bad place and well located (about 10 minute walk from Old Town) but not the finest hotel at which I have stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not border the Rue de Chanzy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovehuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 487 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

We have stayed here several times on our way up through France. As a stop over we find it a good hotel and reasonably priced. Modern clean, comfortable rooms. The Wifi is free. We like the secure parking as our car is packed with lots of bags etc. We have nothing to grumble about ..

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vjskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The rooms very clean, and nicely decorated, comfortable bed although would have preferred a double bed to two singles! A small quiet bar is available in the evening which was perfectly pleasant.

The continental breakfast was fine, the usual fare, but the cooked options not so great... hardly anything there, nearly empty serving dishes, and no one re-filling them, and what was there was cold.

I expected more for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheChunkyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Dublin, Ireland
1
Reviewed September 14, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

An old building but attractive. Floorboards creak somewhat which meant we heard from our upstairs neighbours a fair bit !

A small room but equipped with a comfortable bed and an espresso machine and free soft-drinks in the minibar (I don’t think those benefits are standard – I believe they came with the particular internet deal booked through the Accor website).

Bath towels very small indeed by UK standards

A good car park if a little tricky to find.

Breakfast was of decent quality if a little expensive for the extent of the selection. A plus point was the “bio” table of healthy/organic options.

Very friendly and helpful staff. And only 10 minutes walk to the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I stayed over one night at le mans on a motorbike tours to the south and found city center mercer my perfect home away from home. The garage is very good ( important in a busy downtown area) and the receptionist ( Claire) speaks at least 7 languages. Excellent location, excellent rooms. No restaurant other than for breakfast but many close by.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAU2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Mans hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Le Mans Centre
Ibis Le Mans Centre
#2 of 41 in Le Mans
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Concordia Hotel
Concordia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Le Mans
219 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
#6 of 41 in Le Mans
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Charleston
Hotel Le Charleston
#1 of 41 in Le Mans
305 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club
4.2 mi away
Domaine De Chatenay
Domaine De Chatenay
#1 of 7 in Saint-Saturnin
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Le Mans Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Le Mans Centre

Address: 19 rue Chanzy, 72000, Le Mans, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Mans
Price Range: $88 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Le Mans Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Le Mans Centre is located in the city centre, 500m from the old city, known as the Citee Plantagenet, and 5 km from the Buggati circuit. The hotel features 68 airconditioned rooms including 3 for persons with limited mobility. All rooms havetelevision and WiFi wireless Internet, a bar open from 6.00 p.m. to midnight, 2 meeting rooms and a private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Le Mans Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Le Mans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing